Costa Book Awards 2016

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. The shortlist for the 2016 Costa Book Awards have been announced, and you'll find them all below.

Costa Novel Award Shortlist

Days Without End - Sebastian Barry

"A beautiful, savage, tender, searing work of art. Sentence after perfect sentence it grips and does not let go." (Donal Ryan). "A violent, superbly lyrical western offering a sweeping vision of America in the making [and] the most fascinating line-by-line first person narration I've come across in years." (Kazuo Ishiguro). "I am thinking of the days without end of my life..." After signing up...

£17.99

£12.99

This Must be the Place - Maggie O'Farrell

A Sunday Times top ten bestseller, the dazzling new novel from Costa Novel Award-winner Maggie O'Farrell THIS MUST BE THE PLACE crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE SALTIRE SCOTTISH FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR, THE BGE IRISH BOOK AWARDS AND THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG READER AWARDS. 'A tour de force...her best novel to date, a book that...

£14.99

£11.79

The Essex Serpent - Sarah Perry

THE WATERSTONES BOOK OF THE YEAR SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 COSTA NOVEL AWARD Sunday Times bestseller 'One of the most memorable historical novels of the past decade' Sunday Times London 1893.

When Cora Seaborne's husband dies, she steps into her new life as a widow with as much relief as sadness: her marriage was not a happy one, and she never suited the role of society wife.

Accompanied by her...

£14.99

£11.45

The Gustav Sonata - Rose Tremain

This book was short-listed for the Costa Book Award.

It is the Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller. What is the difference between friendship and love? Or between neutrality and commitment? Gustav Perle grows up in a small town in 'neutral' Switzerland, where the horrors of the Second World War seem a distant echo.

But Gustav's father has mysteriously died, and his adored mother Emilie is strangely...

£16.99

£12.35

Costa First Novel Award Shortlist

My Name is Leon - Kit de Waal

**A TIMES and INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER** ** SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016** 'Unforgettable, heartbreaking and uplifting - just read it' Daily Mail 'My debut of the year so far...heartbreaking and warm at the same time' Stylist 'Authentic and beautiful, urgent and honest, this novel does what only the best do: it quietly makes room in your heart' Chris Cleave, bestselling...

£12.99

£10.19

Golden Hill - Francis Spufford

New York, a small town on the tip of Manhattan Island, 1746.

One rainy evening, a charming and handsome young stranger fresh off the boat from England pitches up to a counting house on Golden Hill Street, with a suspicious yet compelling proposition - he has an order for a thousand pounds in his pocket that he wishes to cash.

But can he be trusted? This is New York in its infancy, a place where a...

£8.99

£7.69

The Words In My Hand - Guinevere Glasfurd

'EXCELLENT...AN ENTIRELY UNSENTIMENTAL LOVE STORY WITH A MEMORABLE AND ENGAGING HEROINE' - The Times (Book of the Month) 'A STRIKING DEBUT' The Sunday Times For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Words in My Hand is the re-imagined true story of Helena Jans, a Dutch maid in 17th-century Amsterdam, who works for Mr Sergeant the English bookseller.

When a mysterious and...

£16.99

£12.95

The Good Guy - Susan Beale

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016 A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather. Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration.

His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together,...

£16.99

£12.95

Costa Biography Award Shortlist

Elizabeth : The Forgotten Years - John Guy

An ageing queen, an heirless state, conspiracy all round: here is the court of Elizabeth I as never known before History has pictured Elizabeth I as Gloriana, an icon of strength and power.

But the reality, especially during her later years, was not so simple.

In 1583 Elizabeth is fifty years old, past childbearing, but her greatest challenges are still to come: the Spanish Armada; the execution of...

£25.00

£17.79

The Return : Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between - Hisham Matar

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILLIE GIFFORD PRIZE FOR NON-FICTION SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD WINNER OF THE SLIGHTLY FOXED BEST FIRST BIOGRAPHY PRIZE ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES' TOP 10 BOOKS OF 2016 The Return is at once a universal and an intensely personal tale.

It is an exquisite meditation on how history and politics can bear down on an individual life. And yet Hisham Matar's memoir...

£14.99

£11.25

I'm Not with the Band : A Writer's Life Lost in Music - Sylvia Patterson

Shortlisted for the Costa Biography Award 2016. This is a three-decade survivor's tale ...a scenic search for elusive human happiness through music, magazines, silly jokes, stupid shoes, useless blokes, hopeless homes, booze, drugs, love, loss, A&E, death, disillusion and hope - while trying to make Prince laugh, startle Beyonce, cheer Eminem up, annoy Madonna, drink with Shaun Ryder and finish...

£20.00

£15.79

Dadland : A Journey into Uncharted Territory - Keggie Carew

This book was shortlisted for the Costa Book Award.

Keggie Carew grew up in the gravitational field of an unorthodox father who lived on his wits and dazzling charm.

As his memory begins to fail, she embarks on a quest to unravel his story, and soon finds herself in a far more consuming place than she had bargained for.

Tom Carew was a maverick, a left-handed stutterer, a law unto himself.

As a...

£16.99

£12.35

Costa Poetry Award Shortlist

Say Something Back - Denise Riley

Say Something Back will allow readers to see just why the name of Denise Riley has been held in such high regard by her fellow poets for so long.

The book reproduces A Part Song, a profoundly moving document of grieving and loss, and one of the most widely admired long poems of recent years.

Elsewhere these poems become a space for contemplation of the natural world and of physical law, and for the...

£9.99

£7.59

Let Them Eat Chaos - Kate Tempest

Let Them Eat Chaos, Kate Tempest's new long poem written for live performance and heard on the album release of the same name, is both a powerful sermon and a moving play for voices.

Seven neighbours inhabit the same London street, but are all unknown to each other.

The clock freezes in the small hours, and, one by one, we see directly into their lives: lives that are damaged, disenfranchised,...

£9.99

£7.59

Falling Awake - Alice Oswald

This book was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Poetry Award.

It was shortlisted for the 2016 T. S. Eliot Award. It was also shortlisted for the 2016 Forward Prize. It is a Daily Telegraph / Guardian / Herald / New Statesman / Sunday Times / Times Literary Supplement Book of the Year.

Alice Oswald's poems are always vivid and distinct, alert and deeply, physically, engaged in the natural...

£10.00

£7.65

Children’s Book Award Shortlist

Time Travelling with a Hamster - Ross Welford

For readers who loved Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry.

A story that crosses time and generations, for adventure-loving readers young and old. "My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was twelve." On Al Chaudhury's twelfth birthday his beloved Grandpa Byron gives him a letter...

£6.99

£6.59

The Monstrous Child - Francesca Simon

A stunning, operatic and epic drama like no other. Meet Hel, an ordinary teenager - and goddess of the Underworld.

Why is life so unfair? But Hel tries to make the best of it, creating gleaming halls in her dark kingdom and welcoming the dead who she is forced to host for eternity.

Until eternity itself is threatened. Francesca Simon's wonderful first foray into teen fiction.

£9.99

£8.65

Item not Available

The Bombs That Brought Us Together: Shortlisted for the Costa Children's Book Award 2016 - Brian Conaghan

Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life.

He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting.

You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town.

When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken.

Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and...

£12.99

£10.25

Orangeboy - Patrice Lawrence

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD 2016 "What a book!

Such a gripping, gritty storyline, with such wonderful, believable characters.

Loved it." (Tanya Landman, author of Buffalo Soldier) Not cool enough, not clever enough, not street enough for anyone to notice me.

I was the kid people looked straight through. NOT ANY MORE. NOT SINCE MR ORANGE. Sixteen-year-old Marlon has made his...

£7.99

£7.39