Book of the Month

A reason to read...

A truly captivating read, perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier.



The Widow's Confession by Sophia Tobin

The new novel from the author of the Sunday Timesbestseller, The Silversmith's Wife.

Broadstairs, Kent, 1851.

Once a sleepy fishing village, now a select sea-bathing resort, this is a place where people come to take the air, and where they come to hide...Delphine and her cousin Julia have come to the seaside with a secret, one they have been running from for years. The clean air and quiet outlook of Broadstairs appeal to them and they think this is a place they can hide from the darkness for just a little longer. Even so, they find themselves increasingly involved in the intrigues and relationships of other visitors to the town.

But this is a place with its own secrets, and a dark past. And when the body of a young girl is found washed up on the beach, a mysterious message scrawled on the sand beside her, the past returns to haunt Broadstairs and its inhabitants. As the incomers are drawn into the mystery and each others' lives, they realise they cannot escape what happened here years before...A compelling story of secrets, lies and lost innocence...

Meet the Author - Sophia Tobin

Sophia Tobin was raised on the Isle of Thanet in Kent. Having graduated from the Open University, she moved to London to study History of Art, then worked for a Bond Street antique dealer for six years, specialising in silver and jewellery. Inspired by her research into a real eighteenth-century silversmith, Tobin began to write The Silversmith’s Wife, which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize, judged by Sophie Hannah and Professor Janet Todd.  It was published by Simon & Schuster in January 2014 and was a Sunday Times bestseller in hardback.

Tobin’s second novel, The Widow’s Confession, a novel of love, murder and secrets, set in Tobin’s childhood town of Broadstairs, was published in January 2015. She is currently writing her third novel, The Last Servant, set in the desolate Yorkshire Moors.

She lives in London with her husband and works as Library Administrator for the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths. 

Also by Sophia Tobin

The Silversmith's Wife - Sophia Tobin

The year is 1792 and it's winter in Berkeley Square. As the city sleeps, the night-watchman keeps a cautious eye over the streets and another eye in the back doors of the great and the good. Then one fateful night he comes across the body of Pierre Renard, the eponymous silversmith, lying dead, his throat cut and his valuables missing. It could be common theft, committed by one of the many villains who stalk the square, but as news of the murder spreads, it soon becomes clear that Renard had more than a few enemies, all with their own secrets to hide. At the centre of this web is Mary, the silversmith's wife. Rich, intricate and beautifully told, this is a story of murder, love and buried secrets.