The Yard : Scotland Yard Murder Squad Book 1, Hardback

The Yard : Scotland Yard Murder Squad Book 1 Hardback

Part of the Scotland Yard Murder Squad series

1 out of 5 (1 rating)


Fans of "The Interpretation of Murder" and "The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher" will love "The Yard", a gripping crime fiction novel from debut author Alex Grecian, set in atmospheric Victorian London.

During the aftermath of the Jack the Ripper case, Scotland Yard's brand new Murder Squad are faced with their most gruesome crime scene yet. "The Yard" will take you into the dark side of Victorian London and offers a fascinating insight into the birth of CSI.

A new era of fear is just beginning...1889, London. The legacy of Jack the Ripper has cast a shadow over the city.

Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty.

When the body of a Yard detective is found in a suitcase, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that not even the police are safe from attack.

Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large?Walter Day, the squad's newest recruit, is assigned the case and finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr Bernard Kingsley.

Can they find the murderer before it's too late? Or is London at the mercy of a serial killer even deadlier than Jack the Ripper?

Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods, and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son.

Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. "The Yard" is his first novel.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives - known as 'The Murder Squad' - to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police's spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own . . . one of the twelve . . .When Walter Day, the squad's newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad . . . but why?My Thoughts:I was disappointed with this book. To say it is set post Jack the Ripper, Victorian London and I could have been anywhere. The book had no atmosphere and I felt it was rather flat.The idea behind the book seemed ok but it just had didn’t live up to it. I can see that the characters could develop more if there are more books with them in. As it stands now I didn’t connect with any of the characters and they didn’t seem real enough.So it is with deep regret that after nearly half the book, trying to keep going I have given up.

Also by ALEX GRECIAN   |  View all

Also in the Scotland Yard Murder Squad series   |  View all