A Cold Season, Paperback

A Cold Season Paperback

Part of the The Cold series

3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)


This spine-tingling debut novel from Alison Littlewood is 'a career defining masterpiece' Horror Novel Reviews.

Perfect for fans of Stephen King and S J Watson. A BROKEN FAMILY: Cass is trying to rebuild her life after the loss of her soldier husband, and a renovated mill in the picture-perfect village of Darnshaw looks to be the idyllic spot to bring up her traumatised son. A DARK SECRET: But the locals aren't as friendly as Cass had hoped, and Ben is beginning to display a hostility she can't understand.

Then the blizzards blow in, and Darnshaw is marooned in a sea of snow. ISOLATED: Now, threatened on all sides, Cass finds herself pitted against forces she can barely comprehend. The cold season has begun...


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Horror & ghost stories
  • ISBN: 9781780871363



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

A Cold Season is a very claustrophobic story. Cass and her young son, Ben, have returned to her childhood home of Darnshaw after Cass’s soldier husband has been reported missing. From the very first moment that she drives into the village strange and sinister things start to happen. I don’t want to give away too much of the story as the blurb is quite bare, but I really didn’t expect the story that I got, which ended up doubling up as a bit of a Halloween read for me.The main focus of the book really is the weather. Cass finds herself stuck in Darnshaw after the snow comes in and she is extremely isolated and cut off. The phone lines are down, there’s no internet, post isn’t getting in and out, and nor is food. I think Alison Littlewood really did capture the intensity of feeling so cut off in this book, and also Cass’s newness to the village and her bewilderment at her son’s increasingly erratic behaviour.I did find it sinister for the most part with a sense of forboding, but with also a slight strangeness to it, particularly near to the end, which didn’t quite sit right with me. Overall though I found this a compelling read and I’d certainly read another of this writer’s books.

Also by Alison Littlewood   |  View all

Also in the The Cold series