Meet Me Under the Clock, Paperback


Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse have always been like chalk and cheese.

When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiance Ian while Audrey jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way. Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but soon finds that her new freedom also brings temptation.

When she goes too far, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family.

Meanwhile, Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to Ian's dismay.

Ian thinks the job is unfeminine - unlike Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be.

But Kitty's innocent nature hides a dark secret ...As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they're brave enough to fight for it. A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, Annie Murray's Meet Me Under the Clock is perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Annie Murray   |  View all