Wild Born, Hardback Book

Wild Born Hardback

Part of the Spirit Animals series

4 out of 5 (9 ratings)

Description

Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers.

Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible beasts - a wolf, a leopard, a panda, a falcon.

Suddenly the paths of these children - and the world - have been changed for ever.

Enter the world of Erdas, where every child who comes of age must discover if they have a spirit animal, a rare bond between human and beast that bestows great powers to both.

A dark force has risen from distant and long-forgotten lands, and has begun an onslaught that will ravage the world.

Now the fate of Erdas has fallen on the shoulders of four young strangers ...and on you.

Part engrossing book series, part action role-playing game - discover your spirit animal and join the adventure in Autumn 2013.

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 224 pages, maps
  • Publisher: Scholastic US
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Fantasy
  • ISBN: 9780545522434

£7.99

£6.15

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 5 of 9 reviews.

  Previous  |  Next

Review by
4

In children's eleventh year, they undertake a ceremonial transformation into adults by calling their "spirit animals." Most children fail to call any animal at all, but none in history have ever called one of the Great Beasts. So when four children call the spirits of the four Great Beasts who died years ago in a brutal war to save humanity, the kids are quickly swept up into an adult world of conspiracies and danger. This is an adorable first book in a series. It is appropriate, both in maturity and reading level, for an 8-10 year old - and it would be equally enjoyable to boys and girls. The children's adventures are exciting, but not violent or scary. Some interesting questions of ethics are brought up: for instance, should we support the people who have always been in power and who appear to fight for "good," even when they haven't ever helped us? I look forward to the rest of the books in the series.

Review by
4

I'm sure this book series is going to be the next big thing in middle grade/YA fiction. Each book in the series, published by Scholastic, will be written by different authors who will inject their brilliance into each book, spinning a new and exciting tale every time. The first book is written by Brandon Mull. Get ready for the second book, which is sure to be amazing by the one-and-only Maggie Stiefvater!I will come right out and admit that I was hesitant with this book. The title alone was enough to make me grimace. In my head, I was worried I was going to have to read a story about kids who turned into animals or a less intense version of something like having an animal soul like in The Golden Compass. What I did not expect was the story to have a real reason behind one's ability to have a spirit animal. I like the thought put into how you get a spirit animal. I also like the fact that not everyone gets one. This is not a world where every kid at the age of 11 gets a spirit animal.To be able to "produce" a spirit animal, children at the age of 11 drink a special nectar. If they are chosen, an animal will appear out of the sky in a dramatic and awe-inspiring way, in front of the entire community. The animals radiate power. They are independent and must have their trust earned by their respective humans. The four creatures you see on the cover are four of the "Great Beasts"--ancient spirit animals who were destroyed a long time ago, and have been "resurrected" by these four kids.War is breaking out everywhere and these four kids, with the help of these ancient animals, can make all the difference. They set out on an epic adventure to train and hopefully to help save the world. This book is fast-moving, exciting, and full of danger and of the unexpected. The book is told from the alternating points of view of the characters, giving the reader the chance to identify with each of the characters and to experience their very different adventures as they learn to work with the animals.Although the book is set in a mythological far off world, the kids deal with social issues that readers will certainly be able to identify with. Issues such as self-doubt, confidence, identity issues, loyalty, morality, learning to trust, learning to fit in, and learning to be a leader and to work with others are all prevalent.Unlike many stories today of heroic children, I liked that this book does not ignore the importance of adults/parental figures. While the children must mature quickly and they have the fate of the world resting on their shoulders, the adults are present to guide them on their journey. The kids are learning to be heroes and survivors, but they do so under the watchful eyes of the adults who are very much needed. The kids are equal with the adults and are very important to the mission. Readers will enjoy the freedom, the adventures, and the necessity of the children's presence. Parents can appreciate that these fictional children need their parents/need adult guidance just as children do in reality. This is not a story of rebelliousness or carelessness.I love how realistic and logical this seems--you can't just throw kids into the world and have them come out as invincible. What a refreshing take! These kids are given a lot of responsibility and have the freedom and independence all kids crave, but there are still adult protectors; there are still people to give guidance and to lend a hand.I also noticed there is a diverse group of characters: a street-boy/orphan, the wealthy daughter of a military man, a palace servant, and a middle-class/youngest daughter. This book celebrates diversity, and I love that. Rich or poor, important or common, anyone can be a hero!The characters are good role models for other kids. For example, when one of the heroes, Abeke, gets led astray, she must decide what is right and wrong--who is good and who is evil. From Abeke, readers can learn to trust their instincts. These children learn to sense right and wrong as they continue to develop their own moral compasses. Moreover, in this dystopian world, the characters make the decision to sacrifice personal happiness for the greater good, for their friends, for others' happiness. They learn to take the hard road, because it will lead to a better world. There's certainly a lot of good life lessons to be taken from these characters!If all these good things are not enough to persuade you, the book is also an interactive online game! There's a code with each book to register and live the adventure yourself. Very cool! Embrace a kid's love of technology while ALSO getting them reading and off the computer. Brilliant!Spirit Animals is everything in an adventure you've ever wanted and more. Fans of Animorphs and Pokemon will enjoy this story. The books are sure to be a huge success, particularly with boys who love fantasy/magic, and adventure stories, with a bit of [age-appropriate] danger and violence. Who knows... maybe we'll even see a TV series out of this? I honestly wouldn't be surprised.

Review by
4

A great fantasy read for younger teens or reluctant readers. Only a small number of children are able to drink the nectar and summon a spirit animal. The four children that these stories focus on have summoned the four great beasts of legend. War is happening on Erdas and the four children and their animals must head out on a quest to try and save Erdas.

Review by
3.5

Wild Born BOOK REVIEW Author (Last name first): Mull, BrandonTitle of the Book: Wild Born (Spirit Animals #1)Publisher: ScholasticDate of Publication:2013ISBN# 978-054522439Price:$12.99Grade Level:Upper El/MiddleNumber of Pages: 224VOYA Rating: 3Q 4P Recommended This is the first book of a new series along the same lines of the 39 Clues books. This first book is written by Brandon Mull and he sets the series up by introducing the characters and the setting. Conor is a sheep herder, who bonds with a wolf named Briggan. Akebe bonds with a leopard named Uzara. Meilin is a trained fighter and is bonded with Jhi a gentle panda. Finally, Rollan bonds with a falcon named Essix; although this particular bonding does not seem to be going well. They are on the world of Erdas and when a child turns 11, they drink a sip of the Nectar, which determines which Spirit Animal they are bonded with.This is a quick paced fantasy series. Each character has their strengths and weaknesses. They have been tasked to fight the evil in their world. This book definitely appeals to the upper elementary and middle school crowd. There are animals, fantasy and adventure awaiting readers. There is a code in each book that corresponds with an on-line role playing game. When the reader finishes the book, they can continue the adventure on-line with their own spirit animal. I think the vocabulary in this book is a bit challenging. It would be difficult for struggling readers. It’s a good book to teach about the fantasy genre and also about series books. I think it’s a great book to engage those kids who would rather play video games than read, because they can do both with this book. It will be a popular addition to a school library.

Review by
4

In the world of Erdas, only a rare few are able to summon a spirit animal in the way that Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan have. The bond they share with their animals is a partnership that allows them to access more-than-human abilities. The four young hero's must unite to be able to stop the Devourer from taking the peace of Erdas and the family of the four.

  Previous  |  Next

Also in the Spirit Animals series   |  View all

£7.99

£6.15

£7.99

£6.15

£7.99

£6.15