The Killing of Bobbi Lomax, Hardback
5 out of 5 (1 rating)


Spectacular crime debut, for fans of Karin Slaughter and Stephen King Longlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger. (A Financial Times Crime Book of the Year (2015)). Canyon County, Halloween 1983, Lomax was the first to die, the bomb killed the prom queen on her own front lawn.

Just moments later one of the nails from the city's second bomb forced its way into the brain of property investor Peter Gudsen, killing him almost instantly.

The third bomb didn't quite kill Clark Houseman. Hovering on the brink, the rare books dealer turns out to be Detectives Sinclair and Alvarez's best hope of finding out what linked these unlikely victims, and who wanted them dead and why.

But can they find the bomber before he kills again? Set deep in the religious heartlands of America, the Killing of Bobbi Lomax follows this troubled investigation as a narrative of deceit, corruption and forgery emerges, with an unlikely hero at its heart - a rare coins, books and manuscript dealer - who could either be a genius or the devil.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780571305384



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

The Killing of Bobbi Lomax – Good Old Retribution The Killing of Bobbi Lomax is the debut crime thriller from new voice Cal Moriarty who has written a stunning thriller from the decade taste forgot. A trip back to 1983 does not harm this thriller but enhances it and being based in an American canyon where a particular church holds sway and the Federal Government is not welcome. This hits all the buttons if you like your thriller to include, murder, fraud, local politics, sinister church leaders, manipulation and the love of money!Without revealing the spoilers of how people were murdered, all Marty Sinclair and his long term police partner Al Alvarez have to go on is about as much as I have revealed. Somehow they need to piece the picture of the who and the what together so that they can get to the why. We are with them every step of the way as they discover the answers even if a very creep church leadership seems to block them. The church leadership is supported by the local politics of the City which all gets in the way of their investigation.It would be easy to say follow the money in this investigation but if you do that you will not get far, even if it does rear its ugly head at relevant points. Once the detectives have discovered the why, they then have to discover the evidence, and unlike many novels you cannot see the clues telegraphed to the evidence that will prove the who may be the culprit or culprits. The Killing of Bobbi Lomax is a wonderful debut thriller that you can enjoy; it was a pure pleasure to read even when reading about murder. There were no silly plot twists, plenty of reminders of the times when detectives had to work without computers and various other kit they have today.Read the publishers blurb and enjoy a good old fashioned thriller where you too can become Hercule Poroit as the investigation evolves, and see if you can come up with the who, what and why before Marty and Al.