The Drowning, Paperback
2 out of 5 (2 ratings)


Swedish crime sensation and No. 1 international bestseller, Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo Christian Thydell's dream has come true: his debut novel, The Mermaid, is published to rave reviews.

So why is he as distant and unhappy as ever? When crime writer Erica Falck, who discovered Christian's talents, learns he has been receiving anonymous threats, she investigates not just the messages but also the author's mysterious past...Meanwhile, one of Christian's closest friends is missing.

Erica's husband, Detective Patrik Hedstrom, has his worst suspicions confirmed as the mind-games aimed at Christian and those around him become a disturbing reality.

But, with the victims themselves concealing evidence, the investigation is going nowhere.

Is their silence driven by fear or guilt? And what is the secret they would rather die to protect than live to see revealed?

International bestseller Camilla Lackberg delivers a chilling and suspenseful mystery that will grip the reader right until its staggering final twist...


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780007419531



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

Another book I would have enjoyed far more if the author hadn't taken the easy out and decided that someone with a mental health problem was the killer. How many times do people have to shout that those with mental health problems are far more likely to be the victims of crime then the perpetrators. This frustrates me so much, it's just lazy, stigmatising and boringly repetative.Or maybe I should just get off my high horse.

Review by

I read about 1/3 of this book before deciding I wasn't going to finish it. I didn't like the way the author jumped around to the various character's stories and felt it prohibited good character development. At the time I put the book down I had no bond developed with any of the characters, nor did I particularly like any of them or have any strong feeling about them either way.

Also by Camilla Lackberg   |  View all

Also in the Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck series   |  View all