Dark Tides, Hardback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


From the number one bestselling author of Safe House comes a story about friendship, family, secrets, lies, and the things we do for love.

When Claire Cooper was eight, her mother disappeared during Hop-tu-naa, the Manx Halloween.

When Claire was eighteen, she and her friends took part in a Hop-tu-naa dare that went terribly wrong.

Now in her early twenties and a police officer, what happened that Hop-tu-naa night has come back to haunt them all, and Claire must confront her deepest fears in order to stop a killer from striking again.

For fans of Stephen King and Harlan Coben, this is I Know What You Did Last Summer meets The Wicker Man from one of the country's new generation of thriller writers. "Ewan has become a master storyteller." (Ann Cleeves). "A rising star of the genre." (Simon Kernick).


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780571307432



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Dark Tides – A Dark Manx ThrillerChris Ewan with Dark Tides introduces us to some of the darker aspects of Manx folklore and spins it in to a wonderful thriller. Anyone that knows anything about the Isle of Man knows that some of its folklore can be quite dark but nothing can compete with Hop-tu-naa, the Manx Halloween. Ewan has woven a wonderful thriller in to the night of Hop-tu-naa drawing out the darkest of evil spirits.Claire Cooper’s mother goes missing presumed dead on 31st October 1995 when she returns Claire home and heads back to her employer Edward Caine in the big house with his ill son. Little did she know that the date would hang heavy in her family for years after. As she gets older she hangs out with her teenage friends on Hop-tu-naa and they take part in various dares every year. One year those dares go one step to far but it would be that dare that would have repecutions over the years eventually coming full circle to Claire.After university Claire is a member of the Manx police and is working when one of her teenage pals is killed in a car crash. The following two years another one of those pals she used to do the dares with is killed and she thinks she knows who is behind it. Unfortunately there is no proof and what proof there is points in a different direction. It is only when Claire and her childhood boyfriend are the last ones standing do things start to become clear and then it is a race against time to save lives and more importantly save her own life.There are some wonderful twists and turns in this thriller and the use of the Hop-tu-naa brings the ultimate twist. As a reader you are pleading that Claire can remain safe but deep down you know she is the ultimate target even though you know it is coming you are not prepared for what happens. Chris Ewan uses a deep and well researched knowledge of Manx folklore and weaves it wonderfully in to the story. The only regret is that the book comes to an end but it is worth every minute that you spend reading it!

Also by Chris Ewan   |  View all