Orient, Hardback


Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orientis a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city.

On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community.

A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water.

A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere.

Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed.

But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by CHRISTOPHER BOLLEN   |  View all