What Would Mary Berry Do?, Paperback
4 out of 5 (2 ratings)


Marie Dunwoody doesn't want for much in life. She has a lovely husband, three wonderful children, and a business of her own.

But her cupcakes are crap. Her meringues are runny and her biscuits rock-hard. She cannot bake for toffee. Or, for that matter, make toffee. Marie can't ignore the disappointed looks any more, or continue to be shamed by neighbour and nemesis, Lucy Gray.

Lucy whips up perfect profiteroles with one hand, while ironing her bed sheets with the other.

Marie's had enough: this is the year it all changes.

She vows to follow - to the letter - recipes from the Queen of Baking, and at all times ask, 'What would Mary Berry do?' Husband Robert has noticed that his boss takes crumb structure as seriously as budget cuts and with redundancies on the horizon, he too puts on a pinny.

Twins Rose and Iris are happy to eat all the half-baked mistakes that come their way, but big brother Angus is more distant than usual, as if something is troubling him. And there is no one as nosey as a matching pair of nine-year-old girls ...Marie starts to realise that the wise words of Mary Berry can help her with more than just a Victoria Sponge. But can Robert save the wobbling souffle that is his career? And is Lucy's sweet demeanour hiding something secretly sour? This is a delicious feast of a funny novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Allison Pearson. **This is a work of fiction, in no way endorsed by Mary Berry, and where neither Mary Berry herself nor her recipes feature.**




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

Once again having failed to produce a showstopper cake for the school fair, Marie Dunwoody, wife, mother and dentist, vows that next year she will deliver a masterpiece that her children can be proud of. With Mary Berry’s Baking Bible in hand, and spurred on by an imagined rivalry with neighbour Lucy Gray, Marie is determined to work her way through the recipe book for the next year and return triumphant.Despite first impressions, What Would Mary Berry Do? by Claire Sandy is about much more than baking the perfect Victoria Sponge or Doboz Torte, it is a warm and witty story about family, friendship and love.Marie’s nine year old mischievous twin daughter’s, Rose and Iris, are happy to support their mother’s baking dreams but fifteen year old Angus is preoccupied with other matters including a secretive penpal, an attack of the ‘Clones’ and the attentions of a lovesick neighbour. Husband Robert is initially bemused by his wife’s new passion but when his position at work becomes tenuous he decides to turn to Paul Hollywood for consolation turning out perfect buns and muffins with which to impress his boss. Domestic goddess Lucy, Marie’s self proclaimed nemesis, is desperately trying to ignore the cracks in her marriage and make peace with her stepdaughter Chloe.With appealing characters, snappy dialogue and lighthearted domestic drama, What Would Mary Berry Do? is a delicious treat for every reader.PS. For those unaware, Mary Berry, along with Paul Hollywood, are real chefs and are the co-judges of The Great British Bake Off, a reality baking show on BBC

Review by

I received a copy of What Would Mary Berry Do? by Claire Sandy in exchange for an honest review.<br/><br/>Marie and her husband Robert are parents to a teenager and nine year old twins. Marie can make a cake to save her life, while it seems that her neighbor Lucy seems to have a knack for creating any desert known to man. Marie is determined to be a culinary genius and Mary Berry is her new friend, while her husband Robert’s career seems precarious her decides to bake up some treats to sweeten up his boss and maybe solidify his work situation. Armed with Mary Berry as her accomplice Marie is sure to create many a culinary delight. As Lucy and Marie form a friendship some things come to life that Marie could not imagine and what seemed like perfection on the outside is seriously flawed. This book was immensely funny and although it touched on some serious issues it maintained a balance that was really nice. Relationships between family and friends blossomed and grew and the emotional support for the characters evolved when originally they felt they were alone. Great book, great characters and real issues.<br/>