The Gunner Girl, Paperback Book

Description

Perfect reading for fans of Katie Flynn, Margaret Dickinson and Ellie Dean!

Meet the Gunner Girls - three women with one shared ambition: to join the ATS and do their bit for King and country. Bea has grown up part of a large, boisterous Kent family.

But she hasn't heard from her soldier sweetheart in months and her mother is controlling her life.

She needs to take charge of her future. Edie inhabits a world of wealth and privilege, but knows only too well that money can't buy happiness.

She wants to be like Winston Churchill's daughter, Mary, to make a difference. Joan can't remember anything of her past or her family, and her home has been bombed in the Blitz.

Desperate, she needs a refuge. Each one is a Gunner Girl: three very different women, one remarkable wartime friendship of shared hopes, lost loves and terrible danger. 'Will delight all those who love a good wartime story' Dilly Court 'An irresistible tale of friendship, love and heartache during WW2 that had me enthralled' Kate Furnivall 'Heart-warming, enjoyable and full of surprises, I loved The Gunner Girl' Elizabeth Chadwick 'Clare Harvey is an exceptional new talent. The Gunner Girl offers a stunningly realistic vision of the WW2 era, through the intertwined lives and loves of three very different women.

The story is brought to life by razor sharp dialogue, an eye for period details and a taut plot which never becomes sentimental' Kate Rhodes

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781471150548

Other Formats

£7.99

£6.89

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by CLARE HARVEY   |  View all