Cold Grave, Paperback Book
3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)

Description

FROM THE HIGHLY ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF RANDOM AND MURDERABILIA, a murder investigation frozen in time begins to melt. November 1993. Scotland is in the grip of an ice-cold winter and the Lake of Menteith is frozen over.

A young man and woman walk across the ice to the historic island of Inchmahome which lies in the middle of the lake.

Only the man returns. In the spring, as staff prepare the abbey ruins for summer visitors, they discover the body of a girl, her skull violently crushed. Present day. Retired detective Alan Narey is still haunted by the unsolved crime.

Desperate to relieve her ailing father's conscience, DS Rachel Narey risks her job and reputation by returning to the Lake of Menteith and unofficially reopening the cold case.

With the help of police photographer Tony Winter, Rachel prepares a dangerous gambit to uncover the killer's identity - little knowing who that truly is.

Despite the freezing temperatures the ice cold case begins to thaw, and with it a tide of secrets long frozen in time are suddenly and shockingly unleashed. Brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Craig Robertson's debut thriller Random was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger.

Praise for Craig Robertson: 'Robertson is doing for Glasgow what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror 'I can't recommend this book highly enough' MARTINA COLE 'Brace yourself to be horrified and hooked' EVA DOLAN 'Fantastic characterisation, great plotting, page-turning and gripping.

The best kind of intelligent and moving crime fiction writing' LUCA VESTE 'Really enjoyed Murderabilia - disturbing, inventive, and powerfully and stylishly written.

Recommended' STEVE MOSBY 'A great murder mystery witha brilliantly realised setting and deftly painted characters' JAMES OSWALD 'Takes a spine-tingling setting and an original storyline and adds something more'Scottish Daily Record 'A perfectly constrcuted police procedural with real psychological depth' Crimefictionlover

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780857204172

Other Formats

£6.99

£6.39

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by
3.5

Slow story, very good prose as with two previous novels. But #2 and 3haven't lived up to expectations of CR's debut novel. This begins with a young couple walking across the ice on a rarely frozen Scottish lake 19 years earlier; only one returns and a body is left behind. This is Rachel's dad's major unsolved case. Now he has Alzheimer's and she is committed to closing this one. Four young men are suspects, all are HS teachers, and two of them are recent suicides. The focus here is on both Rachel and her photog boyfriend Tony. May drop this series.

Also by Craig Robertson   |  View all

£6.99

£6.39

£6.99

£6.39