The Hidden Shore : The Morland Dynasty, Book 19, Paperback Book

The Hidden Shore : The Morland Dynasty, Book 19 Paperback

Part of the Morland Dynasty series

4 out of 5 (1 rating)


1843: the early years of Queen Victoria's reign witness much high-level debate at the Palace of Westminster, but nothing can interfere with Society's enjoyment of the Season.When Charlotte Meldon's father dies, she believes herself to be destitute, but a lawyer's letter reveals that she is not only part of the great Morland family, but wealthy and a countess in her own right.

She is expected to make a great marriage, and with her vivacious cousin Fanny by her side, she is launched into her first Season.

But it is Fanny, the hardened flint, who loses her heart first, while Charlotte catches the eye of Oliver Fleetwood, the most eligible man in London.Then the Season ends in disillusion, and Charlotte rebels against a life of idle amusement.

With calm courage she flouts convention and embarks on a new journey which will change her life in very unexpected ways.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 592 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Sagas
  • ISBN: 9780751519341

Other Formats



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

#19: Covers 1843-1848; early Victorian periodFinally, with Nicholas Morland’s death in The Abyss, the series shifts focus from the Morland brothers to other members of the family; in this case, specifically, Charlotte, daughter of Rosalind and Marcus. She has spent the first 21 years of her life living on relative poverty; but at her father’s death discovers that she’s a wealthy heiress. She is vaulted into high society London, in the company of her cousin Fanny, who is already out but not married. Charlotte forms an attachment to Oliver Fleetwood (who has a “reputation”), but disappointment leads her to become involved in philanthropy and medicine.It’s a relief for the series to move away from the Morland brothers. In some of the previous books, there was a lot of tension and build-up, so it’s good to see some of that released with this installment in the series. Charlotte is a delightful character, quiet but strong-willed and independent. Fanny, the flirt, is the first of the two girls to fall in love; and although circumstances contrive to keep Charlotte and Oliver apart, you hope (and maybe even know?) that a happy ending is in store for them. I loved watching Charlotte’s evolution as a character. Cynthia Harrod-Eagles could have made Charlotte be gauche and naive; but she’s one of those characters who can easily stand back from her surroundings and just observe. She doesn’t allow herself to get caught up in the trappings of her life, even though many young women in her position would be. In this way, get to see the Morlands from the outside looking in, which was a fun treat, since they’re such an eccentric, eclectic bunch.The Hidden Shore is kind of an in-between book; there are no major historical events going on, although the Crimean War is just on the horizon (it’s funny that Cavendish, whose health his parents worry about wants to go into the cavalry, and everyone keeps saying that no fighting will ever take place that he’ll have to participate in).

Also by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles   |  View all

Also in the Morland Dynasty series   |  View all