& Sons, Paperback
3 out of 5 (1 rating)


Who is A. N. Dyer? For fans of 'The Art of Fielding' and 'Wonder Boys' - this is the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide. A.N. Dyer is America's most mysterious literary recluse, his cult book 'Ampersand' treasured by angst-ridden adolescents everywhere.

But seventeen years ago, the unexpected arrival of a new baby Dyer wrecked the writer's relationship with his wife and their own teenage sons. David Gilbert's astonishing novel is an ingenious, death-defying leap into the life of a giant of literature and a father with one final revelation for his boys - or is it actually just one last fiction?




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

This could have been an intriguing novel though it fell far short of the rabid plaudits strewn across the cover.The novel is narrated by Philip Topping and starts with his father's funeral. The tribute is to be delivered by A N Dyer, the highly regarded and commercially very successful novelist who has lived a reclusive life for the last few decades, and is clearly modelled, at least in part, on J D Salinger.The novel is essentially an exegesis of family relationships, and particularly those between fathers and their sons. Unfortunately it was all rather laboured, managing to cram in two hundred pages' worth of material into four hundred pages of scrawling prose, which left me bemoaning the fact that Dyer hadn't predeceased his friend, thus obviating the need for this ultimately tedious book.

Also by David Gilbert   |  View all