Marking Time, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


Home Place, Sussex, 1939. The English family at war ...The sunlit days of childish games and familyn meals are over, as the shadows of war roll in to cloud the lives of one English family.

At Home Place, the windows are blacked out and food is becoming scarce as a new generation of Cazalets takes up the story.

Louise dreams of being a great actress, Clary is an aspiring writer, while Polly, is burdened with knowledge and the need to share it.

Marking Time is the second volume in The Cazalet Chronicles.

The next novel in the series is Confusion.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

The second of the Cazalet chronicles; it is 1939 and war has just broken out. The Cazalet family are variously struggling to deal with the tension of the so-called Phony War, and all the pressures and worries that this brings to the surface. I only discovered this series by chance when my mum borrowed the first one from the library and I read it in a single sitting. I feel this is a good example of writing from a shifting perspective that works very well, and it moves quickly without being confusing. I like the characterisation very much, and think I’d quite like to go to tea with this lot because they’re so frightfully British about everything, darling. Definitely worth a read, particularly if you’re into the social aspects of wartime Britain.

Also by Elizabeth Jane Howard   |  View all

Also in the Cazalet Chronicles series   |  View all