Hull Zero Three, Paperback
3 out of 5 (1 rating)


Trapped on a mysterious spaceship, the only way to escape is to survive.

A thrilling novel from the Hugo and Nebula award-winning Greg Bear.

A starship hurtles through the emptiness of space. Its destination - unknown. Its purpose? A mystery. Its history? Lost. Now, one man wakes up. Ripped from a dream of a new home, a new planet and the woman he was meant to love in his arms, he finds himself wet, naked, and freezing to death.

The dark halls are full of monsters but trusting other survivors he meets might be the greater danger.

All he has are questions: Who is he? Where are they going? What happened to the dream of a new life? What happened to the woman he loved? What happened to Hull 03? All will be answered, if he can survive. Uncover the mystery. Fix the ship. Find a way home. HULL ZERO THREE is an edge of your seat thrill-ride through the darkest reaches of space, from one of the genre's biggest names.

Perfect for fans of Arthur C. Clarke's RAMA or the film EVENT HORIZON.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Science fiction
  • ISBN: 9780575100961



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

It took me a while to get round to finishing Hull Zero Three, but it's not a difficult book at all. It's easy to read, despite the ethical questions it brings up; it's not hard SF, really, it's low on technical details. Mostly Greg Bear gives you a sort of survival-horror world, which you come to realise is a version of the generation-ship idea, and then poses a problem unique to this particular ship that they have to work through. Because the main character has a sort of amnesia, all of this is revealed slowly -- which is a pretty clever way to do it, because obviously the reader is in the same position as the narrator.Ultimately, Hull Zero Three didn't really get its claws into me -- there wasn't <i>enough</i> to make it stand out. But it is a fun read, and an interesting one.

Also by Greg Bear   |  View all