The Words In My Hand, Hardback


'EXCELLENT...AN ENTIRELY UNSENTIMENTAL LOVE STORY WITH A MEMORABLE AND ENGAGING HEROINE' - The Times (Book of the Month) 'A STRIKING DEBUT' The Sunday Times For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Words in My Hand is the re-imagined true story of Helena Jans, a Dutch maid in 17th-century Amsterdam, who works for Mr Sergeant the English bookseller.

When a mysterious and reclusive lodger arrives - the Monsieur - Mr Sergeant insists everything must be just so.

It transpires that the Monsieur is Rene Descartes. Helena's life, like that of so many women in history in history, is scarcely recorded.

In The Words in My Hand she is a young woman who yearns for knowledge, who wants to write so badly she makes ink from beetroot and writes in secret on her skin - only to be held back by her position in society as a servant, and as a woman.

Weaving together the story of Descartes' quest for reason with Helena's struggle for literacy, their worlds overlap as their feelings deepen; yet remain sharply divided.

For all Descartes' learning, Helena has much to teach him about emotion and love. When reputation is everything and with so much to lose, some truths must remain hidden.

Helena and Descartes face a terrible tragedy and ultimately have to decide if their love is possible at all.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical romance
  • ISBN: 9781473617858



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops