The Cry, Paperback Book
4.5 out of 5 (3 ratings)

Description

This Book is Long listed for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award.

When a baby goes missing on a lonely roadside in Australia, it sets off a police investigation that will become a media sensation and dinner-table talk across the world.

Lies, rumours and guilt snowball, causing the parents, Joanna and Alistair, to slowly turn against each other.

Finally Joanna starts thinking the unthinkable: could the truth be even more terrible than she suspected? And what will it take to make things right? Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, The Cry was widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year.

There's a gripping moral dilemma at its heart and characters who will keep you guessing on every page.

Information

Other Formats

£7.99

£6.35

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 3 of 3 reviews.

Review by
5

The Cry by Helen Fitzgerald is a dark, disturbing tale of guilt, innocence, truth and lies which held me in thrall from start to finish.This thrilling psychological drama delves into every parent’s worst nightmare, nine week old Jonah is gone and nothing his mother, Joanne, can do will bring him back to her. She wonders is she is being punished for her affair with Noah’s father, Alistair, who was still married when she began seeing him, or for her impatience and anger with Noah’s endless crying on the plane journey from London to Australia, but no matter the ‘why’, Joanna blames herself.I am loathe to give away any hint of the gripping twists and turns that awaits the reader in this engrossing novel. The plot is skillfully crafted to both reveal and conceal the truth and lies that surround baby Noah’s fate. Nothing is ever quite as it seems and I couldn’t help but race through the pages until The Cry reached its stunning conclusion.The characters are complex, real but deeply flawed in the way we all are. How you feel about these people, Joanna, Alistair and Alexandra changes facades begin to crack under the strain of uncertainty and secrets revealed.Heartbreaking, shocking and utterly gripping The Cry has been added to my list of favourite novels for 2013.

Review by
4

The Cry tells the story of baby Noah's 'disappearance' and how his mother and father, Joanna and Alistair, deal with it. The story begins on a plane from Scotland to Australia when Noah is fractious and Joanna is finding him difficult to deal with. Alistair, however, is the epitome of calm. These roles are carried on throughout the whole of the story, with Joanna appearing unhinged and Alistair being in complete control.I can't say much more about the story without giving it all away so I won't, but I did think this was a really good read. It's very quick and easy to get through, especially on a Kindle when it seemed like I was constantly pressing the button to change the page. I enjoyed the characterisations, other important people being Alistair's ex-wife, Alexandra, and their teenage daughter, Chloe. The story unfolds cleverly, and everything you think you know as a reader is turned on its head. I never really felt this was an intense psychological thriller, it's more of a look at mind games and influence over people. I'd read more by this author.

Review by
5

Anybody who has flown a long flight, say Glasgow to Dubai, in the company of a small child, or been sitting near one, can empathise with the situation when the child constantly cries. That's where we start with Joanna and Alistair and their baby Noah. For Joanna this becomes the trip from hell, although Alistair seems to be able to sleep through it all. The second leg of the journey from Dubai to Melbourne is only a little better.The journey starts badly at departure when airport security declares that the bottles that Joanna's antibiotics and Noah's Calpol are too big. That leads Joanna into making a crucial error.The family is on its way to Melbourne so that Alistair can claim custody of his teenage daughter from his ex-wife who brought Chloe back to Australia illegally. When Noah goes missing from the car when they are driving to Geelong, the custody of Chloe still looms large for Alistair in particular. It becomes even more crucial when Noah remains missing.This story twists in directions the reader just couldn't predict. The general public becomes involved in the search for Noah not only through media releases but also through social networking like Facebook and Twitter. Joanna and her reactions to her baby's disappearance come under public scrutiny, with the rumour mill coming perilously close to the truth.Although firmly set in Australia (Joanna and Alistair land in Melbourne when small towns near Geelong are threatened by bushfires) the setting could almost be anywhere and Helen Fitzgerald has the reader asking how they would have reacted in similar circumstances.A really good read, touching issues that go well beyond the disappearance of a baby.

Also by Helen FitzGerald   |  View all

£7.99

£6.35

£7.99

£6.35

£7.99

£6.35

£12.99

£9.49