After the Silence : Inspector Rykel Book 1, Paperback

After the Silence : Inspector Rykel Book 1 Paperback

Part of the Amsterdam Quartet with Inspector Jaap Rykel series

5 out of 5 (1 rating)


This book is perfect for fans of The Killing or The Bridge, After the Silence is an utterly compelling crime debut set in Amsterdam.

Jake Woodhouse's second novel, Into the Night, published March 2015.

A body is found hanging on a hook above the canals of Amsterdam's old town, a mobile phone forced into the victim's mouth.

In a remote coastal village, a doll lies in the ashes of a burnt-down house.

But the couple who died in the fire had no children of their own.

Did a little girl escape the blaze? And, if so, who is she and where is she now? Inspector Jaap Rykel knows that he's hunting a clever and brutal murderer.

Still grieving from the violent death of his last partner, Rykel must work alongside a junior out-of-town detective with her own demons to face, if he has any hope of stopping the killer from striking again.

Their investigation reveals two dark truths: everybody in this city harbours secrets - and hearing those secrets comes at a terrible price...After the Silence introduces Inspector Jaap Rykel in a gripping debut police procedural from Jake Woodhouse, which is sure to appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson and Stuart MacBride. This is the first novel in The Amsterdam Quartet series.

Praise for After the Silence: "This gripping detective novel will thrill fans of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and bears comparison to Fatherland...Utterly unputdownable." (The Sun). "Utterly enthralling...looks set to be one of the key sequences in modern crime fiction." (Barry Forshaw, Crimetime). "After the Silence is as dark and twisty as the Amsterdam it navigates and Rykel a fascinating and original protagonist.

A promising start to what could be a great series." (Stav Sherez, author of A Dark Redemption). "Complex...intriguing...keeps the reader hooked." (Eurocrime).

Jake Woodhouse has worked as a musician, winemaker and entrepreneur.

He now lives in London with his wife and their young gundog.

After the Silence is the first book in his Amsterdam Quartet.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781405914284



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Waw loved this book have me griped from page one and did not let got until the end ho and what an end that was so if you would like to see what all this is about go get the book you will not be disappointed so all I can say is wonderful book and well thought out characters and the story line where superp and my heart felt thanks go to the author Jake Woodhouse a well put together piece of art so with all that said keep smiling and happy reading to you all with love from wee me. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Also by Jake Woodhouse   |  View all

Also in the Amsterdam Quartet with Inspector Jaap Rykel series   |  View all