Into the Night : Inspector Rykel Book 2, Paperback


The second sophisticated and dark installment in Jake Woodhouse's Amsterdam Quartet, featuring returning series character Inspector Jaap Rykel.

After the Silence was Jake's first novel. "Does for Amsterdam What Rankin Did For Edinburgh". (Crime Thriller Hound). A body is found on a rooftop, the dead man's hands blowtorched, his head removed.

The man tasked with tracking down the killer is Amsterdam Inspector Jaap Rykel.

But as he searches the headless body for clues Rykel finds something which makes his blood run cold - a picture of himself on the victim's phone. And then a message from the killer reveals the location of a second mutilated corpse.

It's another day in Western Europe's murder capital ...Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and The Killing. Acclaim for Jake Woodhouse: "A complex, brilliantly written crime novel, which builds to a truly shocking climax." (S.J.

Sykes, author of Plague Land). "Superficially, a cracking cops 'n' robbers story, but with a deep, dark heart.

You will read it in just a few sessions and be gripped...The conclusion is intense, violent and left me literally dry-mouthed...For someone on only his second novel, he writes like an established master. " (Crime Fiction Lover). "Utterly enthralling...Looks set to be one of the key sequences in modern crime fiction." (Barry Forshaw, Crimetime). "Claustrophobic, disturbing and utterly thrilling." (Crime Squad). "As dark and twisty as the Amsterdam it navigates." (Stav Sherez). "This is a great debut." (Crime Fiction Lover). "This gripping detective novel will thrill fans of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and bears comparison to Fatherland...Utterly unputdownable." (Sun). "Complex...intriguing...keeps the reader hooked." (Eurocrime).

Jake Woodhouse has worked as a musician, winemaker and entrepreneur.

He now lives in London with his wife and their young gundog.

Into the Night is the second book in his Amsterdam Quartet; After the Silence is the first.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Jake Woodhouse   |  View all

Also in the Amsterdam Quartet with Inspector Jaap Rykel series   |  View all