The Cutting, Paperback


James Hayman's debut thriller "The Cutting" is the first in the chilling "Detective Michael McCabe" series.

Someone is stealing the hearts of beautiful women...Portland, Maine.

A missing high-school athlete's mutilated body is found in a scrap metal yard.

Her heart has been surgically removed. The same day a young businesswoman is abducted...Former NYPD detective Michael McCabe believes both crimes are the work of one man.

A killer with surgical expertise who is targeting young women.

Now McCabe and his team face a race against time to rescue the missing woman and unmask this sadistic killer - before it is too late. "The Cutting" is one of the scariest debuts of the year. And the first in a great new series. Fans of Richard Montanari and Michael Connelly will be hungry for more of this series.

Hayman introduces his hero, Detective Michael McCabe in "The Cutting", his gripping debut thriller.

Later titles in the series include "Darkness First" and "The Chill of Night". Praise for James Hayman: "A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last.

A thriller of a thriller!'". (Tess Gerritsen). "Supremely accomplished storytelling". ("Daily Mail"). "Taut, suspenseful...every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly". (Richard Montanari). James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies.

He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780141047249



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops