Lacey's House: A Psychological, Thrilling and Heart-Warming Read, Paperback

Lacey's House: A Psychological, Thrilling and Heart-Warming Read Paperback

3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)


Winner of the 2012 Luke Bitmead Bursary 'A moving, sensitively written novel by a writer who has a magical way with words.' --Maureen Lee 'Authentic and intensely heartfelt...There is something in this novel for every woman.' --Ruth Dugdall Lacey Carmichael leads a solitary life.

To her neighbours she is the mad old woman who lives at the end of the lane, crazy but harmless. Until she is arrested on suspicion of murder. When Rachel Moore arrives in the village, escaping her own demons, the two women form an unlikely bond.

Unravelling in each other tales of loss and heartache, they become friends. Rachel sees beyond the rumours, believing in her innocence, but as details of Lacey's life are revealed, Rachel is left questioning where the truth really lies. Prize-winning poignant novel about love and loss. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

This book really tugs on your heartstrings. Rachel and Lacey, are a generation apart, but both have experienced many of life's trials in ways that have had a detrimental effect on their lives. Lacey's background is so personally horrific that it is hard to understand how she has managed to cope. Yet she has found a way, and when Rachel moves next door to her, they become friends. A novel about the importance of friendships, of having just one person you trust enough to open up to and tell your secrets. There are so many poignant moments in this novel, and I came to care greatly for these two woman. In some parts it was very hard to read, I really just wanted to comfort the poor young girl that Lacey was. I read somewhere that the author wrote this about some parts of her grandmother's life. I am so glad that mental illness has come father than the barbaric treatments they practiced in the past. That some secrets that need to be told are not being kept in the family home, that there are people who care enough to intercede. How important that is. In some places I felt it was overdone and could definitely see this being made into a Lifetime channel movie. I would recommend this to readers who like Kristin Hannah, Luanne Rice and those who like woman's fiction. A wonderful tribute to the author's grandmother.Love the simple cover. ARC from NetGalley.