Shut Your Eyes Tight, Paperback
3.5 out of 5 (1 rating)


John Verdon returns with "Shut Your Eyes Tight", the second book by in the "David Gurney" series.

Once a cop. Always a cop...Ex-NYPD detective Dave Gurney is supposed to be retired.

But people with problems keep knocking on his door. Like the police, for instance, who are baffled by a gruesome murder they just can't seem to solve.

A young bride has been killed in the middle of her own wedding reception.

The prime suspect - her new husband's Mexican gardener - is missing.

As is the murder weapon - likely a machete - used to decapitate the bride.

The police have drawn a blank. It's as if the killer has vanished into thin air. But when Gurney begins his investigations, he finds that a baffling murder is just the latest of many sadistic crimes committed by an individual who'll do anything to avoid capture. Following the success of "Think of a Number", John Verdon's stunning follow-up novel, "Shut Your Eyes Tight" is just as scintillating.

Fans of Tess Gerritsen and James Hayman will love this series.

Praise for John Verdon: "The best thriller I've read in a long, long time". (Tess Gerritsen). "Wow! Totally absorbing, brilliantly written. The best book I've read this year". ("The Sun"). John Verdon, a former Manhattan advertising executive, lives with his wife on a small hilltop in upstate New York.

His first two Dave Gurney novels are "Think of a Number" and "Shut Your Eyes Tight".


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780141048710



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

Both annoying and compelling at the same time. The pace is slow and there are too many longeurs. Although a lot of time is invested in the characters you still somehow feel distant from them. The plot is far-fetched and yet somehow it manages to keep you hooked to the end as it skates a dangerous precipice between an implausible, sensationalist thriller and an absorbing psychological drama. Not sure which description fits best.