Love, Lies and Lemon Pies, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)


Love, Lies and Lemon Pies, the debut YA novel from Katy Cannon, is the perfect summer read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Louise Rennison.

With a Bake Club recipe at the start of each chapter, this book perfectly captures the current appetite for all things baking! Sixteen-year-old Lottie is on a mission to protect her biggest secret, and it'll take every lie and every baking trick she can muster.

Since her dad died, life hasn't been the same for Lottie.

When the school suggests she joins Bake Club to get her back on track, Lottie reluctantly agrees.

The alternative - the school paying her mum a home visit - is not an option.

But Lottie's uncertainty about Bake Club melts away as she rekindles her love of baking and gets caught up with Mac, school rebel and another unwilling Bake Club member.

As the end-of-year Bake Off approaches, the tension rises.

Can Lottie keep up the facade of her perfect life? And can her bubbling romance with Mac survive the pressure? "A delightful, delicious and feather-light YA romance that still manages to deal beautifully with some deep issues." Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Romance
  • ISBN: 9781847154897



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

15 year old Lottie is really struggling to come to terms with the death of her beloved dad, and her mum's reaction - hoarding to the extent that the whole house and garden is filled with useless junk and rapidly becoming uninhabitable. Lottie is ashamed and frightened that school will find out the extent of her mum's problem, so she pretends to be coping, but her school counsellor insists that she joins in an after school activity. She joins the new Bake Club with a group of other year 10 pupils, and passes on the skills her dad taught her to her new friends. There is a sweet love interest with Mac, seen by many as a bad boy but Lottie comes to see him in a new light.This is a lovely story about friendship and teenage issues with a bit of romance, recommended to those who enjoy young adult fiction - it probably wouldn't convert those who don't). The romance portrayed is just kissing. There are hints that some of Lottie's classmates may be going a bit further sexually, but nothing explicit.I became quite concerned that Lottie, Mac and the rest of the Bake Club would be able to come to terms with their situations, or sort their problems out where that is possible.A quick and enjoyable read, with a few recipes thrown in.Katy Cannon has another book coming out next month, which focuses on Lottie's classmates, and I'd love to read it.