Rosie's War, Paperback


A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale.

Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She's had to leave her job as a nude at the Windmill in Soho after a horrific assault which left her pregnant, and is now living back at home with her recently remarried dad.

Despite her best efforts, Rosie and her dad just can't get along and the strain of coping as a young unmarried mother is getting to her.

As the Nazis strafe the city with V2 bombs, Rosie is determined to keep her head up through the Blitz but when a direct hit to her street cripples her father, it feels like the days have never been darker.

With a final burst of resolution, John Gardiner decides to leave London to escape the bombardment and to Rosie's mixed horror and relief, he takes her baby with him.

Left alone in the East End, with the spectre of the man who assaulted her rearing his ugly head, Rosie decides to join the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service to keep her busy - and to give her hope in these tough times.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Sagas
  • ISBN: 9780007575305



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Kay Brellend   |  View all