The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir, Paperback

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir Paperback


A charming and uplifting story, perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove or Jonas Jonasson. 'If you're a bit of a weirdo you will love Biddy Weir' - Ian Sansom, bestselling author of The Norfolk Mystery Biddy Weir is a quirky girl. Abandoned by her mother as a baby, and with a father who's not quite equipped for the challenges of modern parenting, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time painting by the sea and watching the birds go by.

That is, until she meets Alison Flemming. Because there are a few things about Biddy that aren't normal, you see. And Alison isn't afraid to point them out to the world. All of a sudden, Biddy's quiet life is thrown into turmoil.

If only there was someone to convince her that, actually, everyone's a little bit weird ...A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman's battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen's startlingly honest debut novel. PRAISE FOR THE LONELY LIFE OF BIDDY WEIR "A wonderful debut: poignant, powerful and moving, with ripples of dark humour." Colin Bateman "I'm a little bit in love with Biddy Weir. In her, Lesley Allen has created a character who is the embodiment of all our adolescent insecurities" Bernie McGill, author of The Butterfly Cabinet "In Biddy Weir, Lesley Allen has created one of those characters that gets under your skin and won't leave ...A must-read for anyone who has ever wondered about life and where we fit in" Doreen Finn, author ofMy Buried Life "One of my favourite reads this year ...raw, real and authentic ...You will be enthralled" Bibliomaniac "Truly uplifting ...I can not believe this is Lesley Allen's debut novel" Steph and Chris's Book Review




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops