Gone Missing, Paperback
4 out of 5 (6 ratings)


'Becca slogged through a deep drift and stumbled toward the front of the shanty.

A padlock hung from the hasp, but it wasn't engaged.

Shaking with cold, she shoved open the door. The interior was dark and hushed. The air smelled of kerosene and fish. Out of the wind, it was so quiet she could hear the ice creaking beneath her feet.

Her breath puffing out in clouds of white vapour, she pulled out the candle and matches she'd brought from home and lit the wick.

The light revealed a small interior with plywood walls and a shelf covered with fish blood and a smattering of silver scales.

A lantern sat on the shelf. A coil of rope hung on the wall ...' Three teenagers have vanished from Ohio's Amish country.

The only thing they have in common, other than their religion, is they are keen to leave the Plain Life.

Chief of Police Kate Burkholder is called in to consult by Agent John Tomasetti as her Amish roots will be invaluable in an investigation involving this sectarian society.

They travel to the small town of Monongahela Falls to investigate the latest disappearance -- that of seventeen-year-old Annie King.

The only evidence left behind is a satchel -- and a pool of blood. The case moves closer to home for Kate when a young relative, Sadie Miller, vanishes.

With her own past resonating, Kate delves into the lives of the missing teens.

Soon, a sinister pattern emerges along with a vital clue that changes everything.

While following up on a lead, Kate makes an appalling discovery and unearths a secret no one could have imagined--thrusting her into a fight to the death with a merciless killer.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780230760233



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 5 of 6 reviews.

  Previous  |  Next

Review by

Linda Castillo's latest release - Gone Missing - is the fourth book in her popular Kate Burkholder series. Kate is the Chief of Police in Painters Mill, Ohio, home to a large Amish population. Kate herself was raised Amish but has chosen to leave and lives as an "Englischer". Her background makes her invaluable in dealing with the Amish community. State Agent John Tomasetti asks Kate to consult on a case he's working - a missing teenage Amish girl. As they delve deeper into the case, it appears there are more missing Amish teenagers. But have they met with foul play? Or are they experiencing Rumspringa - a time when young Amish can 'sow their wild oats' with no repercussions before deciding if they will commit to the community. Castillo combines many elements, making her books easy, interesting and engaging reads. First off, Kate is a very likeable character. She is respected by her staff, respects the Amish and comes across as a 'real' person. She is conflicted about many things in her personal life, most notably her burgeoning relationship with Agent Tomasetti. This definitely adds some 'spice' to the novel. The case is a good whodunit. I do wonder if these crimes (because some of them are quite ugly) do happen in the Amish community? Is Castillo basing her plots on facts or creative license? The pacing is quite quick, with lots of action - especially at the end. (which was a good gotcha as well) Those looking for a hard bitten crime novel won't find it here. But those looking for a easy, engaging summer read will enjoy Gone Missing. Fans of Julie Garwood and Tess Gerritsen would enjoy this character. The first book in the series, Sworn to Silence, will soon be a two-hour original movie starring Neve Campbell as Kate Burkholder.

Review by

This is another great book in the Amish thriller series. Although this is book 4, I have only read 2 in this series. However, there was no problem in following the story line of the main character, Kate Burkholder. Raised Amish, she has since left that community and is now Chief of Police in a small rural town.These books are very well written, with lots of suspense and twists and turns. Kate is also in a relationship with John Tomasetti, an agent with the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation. In this story, Tomasetti and Burkholder wind up working together when several rebellious Amish teen girls wind up missing without a trace. Kate is brought onto the case hoping that with her Amish upbringing, the Amish community will be more willing to open up and talk to Kate.There are certainly some dark and disturbing things happening once again in these normally hardworking Amish communities. Kate discovers she will need all her wits to find these girls before it is too late and the ending was definitely action packed! Be prepared to read book number 5, it looks like the ending may leave us wanting more.I recommend this story to anyone who enjoys thrillers.

Review by

Great fourth boo kto the series. It will be a long year waiting for the next book!

Review by

This is another great book by Linda Castillo. I've read each of her books. The Kate Burkholder series keeps the reader on the edge of the chair throughout. These stories detail the challenges of the Amish getting along in the world where things are not as they believe they should be--things that go againist all of their beliefs. If you like a good mystery with lots of twists and turns, then this book is for you.

Review by

Gone Missing is a very entertaining and enjoyable book. That said, it does have a few problems. There were times while reading it that I seriously considered giving it a 3-star rating and once even a 2-star. However after I finished reading the book, particularly the last chapter, I felt Linda Castillo redeemed herself and I ended up liking the book quite a bit.For me, the book starts off on a bad note. I almost tossed it in the trash pile. The prologue involves a 15-year old Amish girl recounting how her 18-year old brother had been abusing her since she was 3 years old. I find that form of sensationalizing fiction by means of sexual descriptions of minors to be reprehensible. I found it interesting that Castillo's main character, Chief of Police Kate Burkholder, spent a lot of page time emoting about the evils of abusing minors.In any case, I'm glad I continued reading because the book became very interesting. The descriptions of the Amish, while at times a mite repetitive, were also compelling. Castillo's background of growing up in Western Ohio helped, no doubt, since this is where the Kate Burkholder novels are set. Her descriptions of the people and lifestyle come across as very authentic.There seem to be a few holes in the plot that really bothered me but they were neatly filled in near the end of the book. In a neat fashion that left me quite impressed. Personally I'd prefer Castillo to skip the sex with minors aspect to these books but other than that this is top shelf writing. You can see Castillo's roots in romance writing when it comes to the relationship between her central characters. Their dancing with commitment issues is very real to life and refreshing to see.

  Previous  |  Next

Also by Linda Castillo   |  View all