Eeny Meeny, Paperback
4 out of 5 (7 ratings)


"This is going to be as big as Jo Nesbo." (Judy Finnigan). "What a great premise!" (Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author of The Skin Collector and Solitude Creek Eeny Meeny is the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M.

J. Arlidge. Eeny Meeny was a Richard and Judy Book Club Summer 2014 pick.

The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it. Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging.

Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed.

Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind? Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top.

As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors - living calling cards - who hold the key to the case. And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die...Introducing M.

J. Arlidge's Detective Inspector Helen Grace, Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider.

Fans of James Patterson and Mo Hayder should pay attention. Praise for M.J. Arlidge and the DI Helen Grace series: "M. J. Arlidge has created a genuinely fresh heroine in DI Helen Grace." (Daily Mail). "Taut, fast-paced, truly excellent." (Sun). "Detective Inspector Helen Grace is one of the greatest heroes to come along in years." (Jeffery Deaver, New York Times bestselling author of The Skin Collector and Solitude Creek). "Gruesomely realistic, intriguing and relentless." (Sunday Sport). "Eeny Meeny debuts one of the best new series detectives, Helen Grace.

Determined, tough and damaged, she must unravel a terrifying riddle of a killer kidnapping victims in pairs.

Mesmerizing!" (Lisa Gardner). "A gripping debut...D.I. Helen Grace is a flawed but winning heroine...and, boy, the pages fly by." (USA Today).


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781405914871



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 5 of 7 reviews.

  Previous  |  Next

Review by

Someone is kidnapping two victims at a time and giving them a choice- one of you must die for the other to live. What would you do in that situation? How do you decide? I really enjoyed this debut from M J Arlidge. The combination of short descriptive chapters and the pace of the book meant it was easy to read and very enjoyable. The right mix of violence and description. Brilliant, can’t wait for the next one. Thank you to for the review copy.

Review by

Eeny Meeny – stunning and brilliantM.J. Arlidge has spent a career writing high class drama for our delectations on television as well as producing crime dramas for ITV. He has brought his experience to this novel and really gives us a taste of suspense, thriller that packs a punch not sure where or who is next and why. He does pose the reader the question though of what would you do to survive all the way through the book. As you get towards the end of the book the one thing you do not want to do is put it down as the pace and anxiety of why the crimes are happening and who will get damaged in the process really picks up a pace and you want actually need to know.Eeny Meeny introduces us to DI Helen Grace who is a strong and effective leader of her team, both admired and feared due to her drive and determination. She is a defective detective without the usual hang ups of drink and drugs, but how she deals with those hang ups is different but helps to explain the steel in Grace’s character. She needs all that steel, drive and determination to solve a number of murders where one has pulled the trigger but is seemingly an innocent player in a very unusual game of life and death. Her first crime that of an emaciated young woman appears from out of the woods at the amusement park and admits to murder but that it was kill or be killed. Then other people disappear and the survivor reappears with the same story but different setting it is just that the survivor is the living calling card from the murderer towards Grace’s team. There is plenty of survivor guilt which does not make things simple for the investigation.It seems like the murderer is taunting Grace and she needs to find out why if she doesn’t then more people will die and the survivor will be a damaged person. While investigating the murders across Hampshire and especially Southampton it will not be the county where she will solve the murders. For that Grace needs to go in to the dark abyss that was her life so she can save those who are abducted. While Grace even doubts herself and her ability her team are looking to her to give them guidance and leadership.M.J. Arlidge introduces us to a real defective detective who has the strength and determination to solve the case. Grace is the sort of defective that readers will love and hate but still admire as you know she will get the job done, just grow a pair if you are on her team. As a debut this is a mind blowing stunning crime thriller as it ticks all the boxes the reader has and the one that leaves the reader wanting more at the end. If Eeny Meeny were a drug it would be banned as it is addictive and you need more from Arlidge and Grace. Here’s hoping!

Review by

This is a fast-paced thriller. Nice short chapters make for a very easy read.The premise of the book is that two people are put in a place they can't escape from with a gun with one bullet. Starving, dehydrated and slowly going crazy, one will eventually escape and in so doing will be released. DCI Helen Grace is investigating, along with her team, and trying to find out who is orchestrating the abductions.I thought this was a great crime/thriller. Maybe not the best writing but it kept my interest and it wasn't obvious how the story would turn out. I liked the police characters and can see there is potential for them to be fleshed out in the next book in the series. I think this was a clever story with a cracking plot.

Review by

Eeny Meeny is a gritty foray into the brutal mystery that is DC Graves' recent serial killer case. A twisted woman has been luring pairs of victims, drugging them and then forcing them to make a terrible choice. I found the protagonist to be rather remote. Although this may lend itself to upholding an air of mystery, whenever I was told she was feeling a certain emotion, it never rang completely true due to the lack of disclosure at other times. Couple this with a tendency to jump viewpoints within the same scene, and it became trickier to connect with the story. Still, the darkly compelling plot line drove me to finish this book in a single day.

Review by

A serial killer is on the loose, abducting victims two by two and stranding them in some out-of-the-way, inescapable place. It is possible to earn freedom, they are promised via text: just use the gun with its one bullet to kill the other person. An interesting plot premise, to be sure. Unfortunately, it doesn’t carry this book. There are far too many improbable moments, too many instances of important details left unexplained, and too many one-dimensional characters populating the pages. Helen Grace has precious little to endear her to the reader and her unprofessional actions grate on the reader’s sensibilities. Astute readers will have figured this one out far ahead of the intrepid Detective Inspector.On the plus side, readers are pulled into the story by the quick pace, the descriptive writing, and the almost-desperate need to discover what choices each pair of victims will make. Unfortunately, the continued abductions under such similar circumstances tend to create an overly-repetitive narrative. The gruesome details and the horrific, unnecessary scenes with Jake seem to serve no purpose other than providing shock value; the rushed ending gives new meaning to trite, overused, and predictable.All in all, this one is a disappointment.

  Previous  |  Next

Also by M. J. Arlidge   |  View all

Also in the Detective Inspector Helen Grace series   |  View all