Mister Memory, Hardback


In Paris, at the end of the nineteenth century, a man with a perfect memory murders his wife.

But that is only the start of the story...A dazzling literary mystery from prizewinning author Marcus Sedgwick. Paris, 1899. Marcel Despres is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to the famous Salpetriere asylum. And there the story might have stopped. But the doctor assigned to his care soon realises this is no ordinary patient: Marcel Despres, Mister Memory, is a man who cannot forget. And the policeman assigned to his case soon realises that something else is at stake: for why else would the criminal have been hurried off to hospital, and why are his superiors so keen for the whole affair to be closed?

This crime involves something bigger and stranger than a lovers' fight - something with links to the highest and lowest establishments in France.

The policeman and the doctor between them must unravel the mystery...but the answers lie inside Marcel's head. And how can he tell what is significant when he remembers every detail of every moment of his entire life?For fans of Scarlett Thomas, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Patrick Suskind, this is a captivating literary mystery about memory, history and fate.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9781444751987



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Marcus Sedgwick   |  View all