At the Break of Day, Paperback


This is a compelling novel about a young woman's determination to make something of herself in a post-Second World War world full of struggle and austerity.

It is previously published as The Future is Ours. It is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Ellie Dean.

It is 1946, and as Europe slowly picks itself up after the trauma of war, Rosie Norton faces a bright future in America.

Evacuated in 1939 by her grandfather, she escaped the cramped streets of London to a new world in Pennsylvania.

Suddenly, at the age of sixteen, she is called home to a Britain bruised by war and still suffering the hardships that America knows nothing about.

While struggling to become accepted again by her family she is supported by her childhood sweetheart Jack.

Until Jack is sent to war in Korea and a homeless Rosie, together with the child he doesn't know they have, is left to fend for herself in London.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: War & combat fiction
  • ISBN: 9780099585848



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops