Daughter of Siena, Paperback


The fourth unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir. The Palio: Siena's famously dangerous and hard-fought horse race.

A year of planning, ten riders, three circuits of the piazza - and all over in a single moment.

But this year, for two of the women watching, far more than the coveted prize is at stake.

For Pia of the Tolomei, the most beautiful woman in Siena, the Palio is her last hope of escaping a violent marriage.

For Violante de Medici, it marks the start of what her enemies intend to be her last month as governess of the city.

Isolated in her palace, surrounded by conspirators, she must find the courage to uncover a plot that threatens her very existence.

The trumpets sound. And into the piazza rides an unknown horseman, clad in the colours of the Tower contrada.

What he does during the race will not only change the lives of Pia and Violante, but alter the course of the Medici dynasty itself. Alive with all the colour and rich historical detail that marks Marina Fiorato's work, Daughter of Siena is a dramatic and compelling story of treachery, courage and the power of love.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: John Murray General Publishing Division
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781848545625



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Marina Fiorato   |  View all