The Whaleboat House, Paperback
3.5 out of 5 (3 ratings)


From the No. 1 bestseller and author of Richard & Judy pick The Savage Garden: an award-winning crime novel set in post-war New York for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed Rubenfeld Long Island, 1947 The men of Long Island have fished the wild Atlantic waters over the centuries.

For Conrad Labarde, recently returned from the Second World War, the nets hold a sinister catch -- the body of Lillian Wallace, a beautiful New York socialite. Is it an accident or murder? Police chief Tom Hollis is convinced the roots of the tragedy lie in the twisted histories of local families.

But the enigmatic Labarde insists on pursuing his own investigation.

It seems the fisherman may have powerful reasons for wanting answers to the questions surrounding her death. And in this strange place where tradition meets power and riches, the truth is a rare thing indeed!


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368 pages, map
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780007161928



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 3 of 3 reviews.

Review by

I'd read the Savage Garden (his 2nd book) already and didn't find it that good but this one is great - completely different! A wonderfully detailed, immersive description of life on Long Island and a great set of characters. It's one of those books that you don't want to end as I enjoyed living in it's world. It would make a great quality holiday read.

Review by

I was a tad bit reluctant to start this book, because I didn't really know what to think of it. But I liked it in the end anyway. The story builds up very slowly, but that didn't annoy me at all. Actually it kind of reminded me of the old Inspector Frost series that I used to watch together with my grandmother. Once I had passed the halfway mark of the book I did start to want a bit more information about the crime, of which you don't even know it is a crime just yet. I liked it, though I didn't love it. It was a pleasurable book and that's just fine with me.

Review by

A young woman's body is found in a fishing net off the Long Island coast. Everyone believes it was a tragic accident, but the Deputy Chief of Police and the fisherman who discovered her have their suspicions from the outset, so each pursues their own investigation into her death.This was a real slow-burner with lots of background information to each of the characters and local colour (with obscure fishing terminology), so much in fact that the plot hardly progressed at all. When you come across the old "Was it an accident or murder?" question in a novel, there is usually only one answer to it, and it proved true here too. In fact, after a certain point the sequence of events was easily predictable, and the only reason this book didn't get a lower rating was because the author delivered a well-written snapshot of life in a fishing community after the Second World War.

Also by Mark Mills   |  View all