Congo, Paperback
1.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


The search for diamonds, a crucial scientific breakthrough and a mythical ruined city set off this adventure into the heart of the Congolese jungle.

The American expedition is led by Karen Ross, desperate to find her husband and recover the data he found before he disappeared.

But there are other teams trying to get there first, and the way is strewn with life-threatening dangers -- plane crashes, civil wars and a dormant volcano awoken by dormant explosives.

In the tradition of Arthur Conan Doyle and H. Rider Haggard, Congo is a novel of high adventure from the master of the modern thriller.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

At the beginning Michael Crichton's <i>Congo</i>, a research team looking for blue diamonds deep withing the Congo region has been mysteriously killed - the prime suspect: a possibly new species of gorilla. A new team, including a university professor and his research subject Amy, a gorilla who communicates using American sign language, is quickly dispatched to find answers (and diamonds). Unfortunately for them, they seem to be no match for the cunning and ruthless killing machines they discover.I recently read and really enjoyed <i>Jurassic Park</i>. Having said that, <i>Congo</i> failed to entertain me in the same way. It's not that it wasn't a good story. The premise is incredibly clever, and the natural history of primates and language development are subjects that I find fascinating. The thing that bogged things down for me in <i>Congo</i> was really all of the technology crud. It was simply too over-the-top for me and didn't really add anything to the story.It is obvious that Micheal Crichton was a talented and creative writer. Technology plays a big part in both of the books I've read by him, but in <i>Congo</i> the sheer magnitude of scientific data completely overwhelms what could have been a truly fascinating story. I can't say I'd recommend <i>Congo</i>, but if you're interested in trying Crichton on for size, try <i>Jurassic Park</i>. I'll be picking up <i>The Lost World</i> next week and I expect it to be wonderful.

Review by

There was little to redeem this novel for me. The characters were flat and lifeless as a highway possum, their goal uninspiring, their peril unbelievable. Finishing the book was much like holding my hand over a flame as a right of passage. There was nothing enjoyable about it other than being able to say I got through it without crying... much. Save yourself the tears and a few bucks; read something else.

Also by Michael Crichton   |  View all