Dinner for Two, Paperback
4 out of 5 (2 ratings)


A witty and touching novel for fans of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby. Thirty-two-year-old music journalist Dave Harding has got a nice house, a cushy job and in Izzy, his partner, the ideal companion for an intimate dinner for two.

But when friends of Dave announce they're having a baby the biological clock he never knew existed starts ticking.

Loudly. When the magazine Dave works for folds he is forced to take the worst job in journalism - Agony Uncle for Teen Scene.

Suddenly cooler-than-cool Dave is knee deep in the adolescent outpourings of his teenage readership.

One letter out of thousands, however, turns his life upside down.

Thirteen-year-old Nicola O'Connell doesn't want advice about boys - she wants to know about Dave because she's convinced that Dave Harding is her dad. And she's got the facts to prove it.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

One of my favourite authors, but definitely not one of my favourite books of his. I still read it in a single day. It's easy, fast-paced and natural-sounding. I just didn't connect well with the characters. I would have loved a bit more surrounding than there was, but everybody felt very real and there. Highly recommended.

Review by

I enjoyed this book. Easy to read, likeable characters and a good ending. Another great from Mike Gayle.

Also by Mike Gayle   |  View all