Above Us the Sky, Paperback


This is a compelling new Second World War novel. Evacuees, the WI, and keeping calm and carrying on. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Ellie Dean. As the threat of bombing raids intensifies, newly-qualified teacher, Phyllis Saunders, is evacuated with her school to Dorset.

Here she encounters prejudice and suspicion. But she is determined to make the best of life, for herself and the children in her care.

All the while her fiance and submariner, Sammy, is facing danger out at sea.

Then the Blitz hits London and Phyllis, trying to persuade her mother to return to Dorset with her, gets caught up in it herself.

Shaken but alive, she returns to the relative peace of the countryside.

But soon she is nursing a secret she can tell no one.

Until the news that Sammy's submarine has been sunk reaches her, and she is forced to make a decision she hopes she will never regret...


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Second World War fiction
  • ISBN: 9781784751036


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops