Galveston, Paperback
3 out of 5 (2 ratings)


From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere. Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence.

Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive. Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision.

He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind. Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780751557053



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

I was rather disappointed by this novel - I had heard great things about it from a selection of people with whose judgement I generally concur. In the event, however, I found it lacking in decent plot or plausible characterisation, and only managed to complete it under duress. i found the prose style rather inaccessible, too.Quite frankly, I walked into that one, and there goes another eight quid I'll never see again!

Review by

Roy Cady has a bad feeling about the job his boss, Stan Ptitko, has given him. It should be a routine scare 'em into doing the right thing action but with the final no guns instruction it feels like a set-up. Especially as his partner for the task is the guy he took his ex-girlfriend from who's now with Ptitko. When he finds himself the last man standing when the dust settles, Roy decides his future lies elsewhere and takes the only other survivor of the shoot-out, a young prostitute by the name of Rocky, along for the ride and so that is isn't left behind to face the consequences. Rocky convinces him to make a side trip to her old home and it's not long before he's saddled with another stray, her 3-year-old sister. The trio end up holed up in a motel in Galveston.Coming to this book by way of the author's phenomenally successful TV show, True Detective, it was always going to be difficult for this book to live up to expectations and unfortunately, for me at least, it doesn't come anywhere near. This ends up being a fairly run-of-the-mill noir thriller where damaged characters fail to be sympathetic for this reader to care enough about what's going to happen to them or who survives past the final page. It's not as bad as I seem to have made out but I think it's the lack of originality that is this book's biggest flaw. The writing is decent enough though that if/when he writes another I will not dismiss it out of hand.

Also by Nic Pizzolatto