The Bascombe Novels, Hardback

The Bascombe Novels Hardback


This is a trilogy of brilliant novels - "The Sportswriter", "Independence Day", and "The Lay of the Land" - that charts the life and times of one of the most beloved and enduring characters in modern fiction.

When we meet Frank Bascombe in "The Sportswriter", his unguarded voice instantly wins us over and pulls us into a life that has been irrevocably changed - by the loss of a marriage, a career, a child.

We then follow Frank, ever laconic and observant, through "Independence Day" and "The Lay of the Land". 'In Haddam, summer floats over tree-softened streets like a sweet lotion balm from a careless, languorous god, and the world falls in tune with its own mysterious anthems.

Shaded lawns lie still and damp in the early a.m.' - "Independence Day".




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Richard Ford   |  View all