The 5th Wave : Book 1, Paperback

The 5th Wave : Book 1 Paperback

Part of the The 5th Wave series

4.5 out of 5 (4 ratings)

Description

*NOW A MAJOR FILM by Sony Pictures, starring Chloe Grace Moretz* 'Wildly entertaining ...I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times *The 5th Wave is the first book in the bestselling series from award-winning Rick Yancey.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and Maze Runner* After the1st wave, only darkness remains.

After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. NOW IS THE DAWN OF THE 5TH WAVE On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs.

Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope. Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. www.rickyancey.com 'Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances' Entertainment Weekly 'A modern sci-fi masterpiece ...Should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.' USA Today 'The pace is relentless' Heat 'Chilling' Sun 'Nothing short of amazing' Kirkus (starred review) 'This book's scary!'Teen Now (5 starred review) 'A twisty survival story that borrows elements from romance, horror and dystopian fiction'Wall Street Journal 'An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion.

You'll read it in one sitting'Bookseller 'Heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises' Booklist (starred review) 'Gripping' Publishers Weekly 'Borrow this one from your teen's nightstand while they're at school.' People Magazine *Winner of the 2014 Red House Children's Book Award *2014 Children's Choice Book Awards Finalist for Teen Book of the Year *A YALSA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults *A YALSA 2014 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers *A Booklist 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults *A VOYA 2013 Perfect Ten *An Amazon Best Book of the Year Books in the series: The 5th Wave (Book 1) The Infinite Sea (Book 2) The Last Star (Book 3)

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thrillers (Children's/YA)
  • ISBN: 9780141345833

£7.99

£7.09

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 4 of 4 reviews.

Review by
5

Omg! This book was awesome! If it were a film you'd be on the edge of your seat! Crazy good!

Review by
5

Recently, I've had a tough time liking the characters in YA books, especially female protagonists, but I actually liked Cassie as well as the majority of the other characters.At the beginning, it reminded me a lot of Ashes by Isla J. Bick (which I also really enjoyed), but I forgot that later on as the story came into its own.It got me hooked from the first few pages and I just flew through it. If you're a fan of apocalypse-type books or just YA in general, you should definitely give this a go.

Review by
4

This one took a really long time to read, for some reason - a good couple of weeks or so - even though it's really good and quite the page-turner. Anyway, I've had the book for ages, the sequel's on the way, and it's also being made into a film, so it seemed a good time to read it - and I wasn't disappointed. It's a fascinating alien apocalypse story mostly focussing on an isolated survivor called Cassie. Her parents are dead, her little brother has been taken to an army camp somewhere, and Cassie has no idea who are the good guys or the bad guys any more. Instead she is focussing only on her goal of being reunited with little Sam, however dangerous that journey might be. I really enjoyed this; I thought the characters were interesting, the extra-terrestrial invasion was well thought-out and compelling to read, the inevitable love storyline was pleasantly secondary to the wider plot, and the seeds have been sown for a complex and exciting sequel. I hope the second book lives up to the first!

Review by
4

well that was confusing.

Also by Rick Yancey   |  View all

Also in the The 5th Wave series   |  View all