The Dark Inside, Paperback


1946, Texarkana: a town on the border of Texas and Arkansas.

Disgraced New York reporter Charlie Yates has been sent to cover the story of a spate of brutal murders - young couples who've been slaughtered at a local date spot.

Charlie finds himself drawn into the case by the beautiful and fiery Lizzie, sister to one of the victims, Alice - the only person to have survived the attacks and seen the killer up close.

But Charlie has his own demons to fight, and as he starts to dig into the murders he discovers that the people of Texarkana have secrets that they want kept hidden at all costs.

Before long, Charlie discovers that powerful forces might be protecting the killer, and as he investigates further his pursuit of the truth could cost him more than his job...Loosely based on true events, The Dark Inside is a compelling and pacy thriller that heralds a new voice in the genre.

It will appeal to fans of RJ Ellory, Tom Franklin, Daniel Woodrell and True Detective.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9780571323050



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Rod Reynolds

Also in the A Charlie Yates Mystery series