Humber Boy B: Shocking. Page-Turning. Intelligent. Psychological Thriller Series with Cate Austin, Paperback

Humber Boy B: Shocking. Page-Turning. Intelligent. Psychological Thriller Series with Cate Austin Paperback

Part of the Cate Austin series

5 out of 5 (1 rating)


FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER THE WOMAN BEFORE ME 'Superbly written...The plot twists and turns on the way to a nail-biting finale.

A compelling read.' The Sun 'Twisty, profound and completely convincing, it grips the reader by the heart.

Unputdownable.' Erin Kelly 'Sad, chilling and horrifying, Humber Boy B is extraordinary.' Elizabeth Forbes A blur in the sky, a brick no, a trainer, red falls to the water...There seems to be a scuffle...a hand grabbing at the dangling child.

Then, with the awfulness of inevitability, the hanging child drops, gravity takes him. A child is killed after falling from the Humber Bridge.

Despite fleeing the scene, two young brothers are found guilty and sent to prison.

Upon their release they are granted one privilege only, their anonymity. Probation officer Cate Austin is responsible for Humber Boy B's reintegration into society.

But the general public's anger is steadily growing, and those around her are wondering if the secret of his identity is one he actually deserves to keep. Cate's loyalty is challenged when she begins to discover the truth of the crime.

She must ask herself if a child is capable of premeditated murder. Or is there a greater evil at play? A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J.

Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Legend Press Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781910394595



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

I didn't realise until after I started reading this book that it features the same character as Ruth Dugdall's first two books, being the probation officer, Cate Austin. However, it didn't matter and this book can be read as a standalone novel. I have the other two books so will read them at some point.Humber Boy B is an 18 year old, just leaving prison after 8 years behind bars for the murder of his friend, Noah. Noah was thrown off the Humber Bridge but there's more to it than there seems. HBB has been given a new identity, a flat and a new life, and Cate is his probation officer who takes a real interest in his case.I enjoyed this book very much. It kept me turning the pages and as it's told from various different perspectives, both now and back when the murder happened, it kept its pace throughout. I really liked Dugdall's style of writing and I thought she brought all of the strands together cleverly. Great book!