The Last Highlander : Scotland's Most Notorious Clan-Chief, Rebel and Double-Agent, Paperback

The Last Highlander : Scotland's Most Notorious Clan-Chief, Rebel and Double-Agent Paperback

4 out of 5 (1 rating)

Description

Fans of C.J. Sansom and Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series must read this Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year - a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland's most notorious clan chief.

Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, was the last of the great Scottish chiefs - and the last nobleman executed for treason.

Determined to seek his fortune with the exiled Jacobite king in France, Fraser acted as a spy for both the Stuarts and the Hanoverians; claimed to be both Protestant and Roman Catholic.

In July 1745, Bonnie Prince Charlie launched his last attempt to seize back the throne, supported by Fraser and his clans.

They were defeated at Culloden. Fraser was found hiding in a tree. This swashbuckling spy story recreates an extraordinary period of history in its retelling of Fraser's life.

He is surely one of Scotland's most notorious and romantic figures, a cunning and ambitious soldier who died a martyr for his country and an independent Scotland.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 288 pages, black & white illustrations, maps, frontispiece, colour plates
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Biography: historical, political & military
  • ISBN: 9780007229505

£9.99

£8.65

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by
4

This book is full to bursting with historical facts of the Jacobien uprising in Scotland in the 18th Century. Almost too full sometimes and takes a fair bit of concentration to read. However it is fascinating. It tells the story of Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat the leader of the Fraser Clan, and a man of intrigue, a bumbling ninny sometimes, eccentric, ambitious and really rather a remarkable character! He seemed to lead a charmed life, as he was sentenced to death as a young man, but managed to regain his freedom after an enormous amount of political rangling only to be sentenced again as an old man of 80! He had many many faults but you can't help having a lot of respect and admiration for a man who would not stop fighting to attain what he wanted, which was basically freedom and liberty for his clan and the people of his beloved Scotland.A really good story, really well researched and well written.