A Ship of War, Paperback


A Ship of War is a stunning new maritime adventure from Top Ten bestselling author Sean Thomas Russell, following the great success of A Battle Won and Under Enemy Colours.

For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian, A Ship of War is the third instalment in the electrifying historical series of Charles Hayden and the Themis. 'Hayden kept his eye fixed upon the chasing ship...The screech of an iron ball passed narrowly by.

There was no room now for error' 1794. As the terror rages in France, Captain Charles Hayden leaves Plymouth with orders to gather intelligence from a spy off the Le Havre coast.

But the enemy lies in wait. In the foulest of weather, Hayden's seamanship is tested to the limit and a terrifying cat and mouse chase begins.

Faced with a powerful French squadron Hayden knows he must elude capture at any cost.

In his possession are details of an imminent attack on British soil which must be delivered before all is lost.Ahead lie shipwrecks, storms, battles and dramatic escapes - and at the centre of it all, the courage and heroism of a lone captain...A Ship of War is the brilliant third tale in the epic maritime adventures of Charles Hayden. A masterpiece already rivalling the stories of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian.

Praise for Sean Thomas Russell: "An unqualified seal of approval.

This is gloriously readable stuff". (The Bookseller). "Russell's encyclopaedic command of nautical lore, joined to his rare ability to spin a ripping yarn, combine to place the reader right in the middle of the action, of which there is plenty". (Neal Stephenson (author)). "Well-written, plenty of adventure ...places the reader in the midst of the action of battle". (Marine Society). Sean Thomas Russell is a lifelong sailor whose passion for the sea - and his love of nautical history - inspired the adventures of Charles Hayden.

A Ship of War follows bestsellers A Battle Won and Under Enemy Colours.

Sean lives on Vancouver Island.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780241952061



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Sean Thomas Russell   |  View all

Also in the Charles Hayden series   |  View all