The Gingerbread Girl, Paperback

The Gingerbread Girl Paperback


ALL SHE WANTED WAS A HOME FOR CHRISTMAS London, 1936 Ill and stuck in hospital at Christmas, seven year old Cora Kelly is excited to receive a visit from her mother, who brings her the gift of a gingerbread man.

But little does Cora know that this will be the last time she sees her ...As Cora continues her recovery on a farm in the beautiful Norfolk countryside, tragedy strikes her family and she moves back to London with her new guardian, Eliza. Here they live a happy, if simple, life. But, as the Second World War approaches, and the past comes knocking, everything changes.

Will Cora be able to escape the inevitable, or is she destined to repeat her parents' mistakes? For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Gingerbread Girl is a heart-warming, festive novel from the Queen of family saga, Sheila Newberry. 'So gloriously nostalgic ...a perfect example of her talent.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool 'Like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen.' Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by SHEILA NEWBERRY   |  View all