Praetorian (Eagles of the Empire 11), Paperback Book

Praetorian (Eagles of the Empire 11) Paperback

4 out of 5 (1 rating)

Description

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!PRAETORIAN is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series.

Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy' The TimesAD 51.

Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture.

Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield of all: the bloody streets of Rome.Traitors are threatening to plunge the Empire into bloody chaos and no one can be trusted.

The Emperor has ordered Cato and Macro to go on a deadly mission, working undercover to root out the traitors before Rome tears itself apart.As the true scale of the corruption dawns, they realise they are facing terrifying odds.

Two men against many, in a desperate race to save not only the Empire, but each other...

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512 pages, Maps
  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9780755353798

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.85

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by
4

This is still a great series. In the back notes, Simon, the author talks of returning to two old friends, and that is how the series is now. Macro has softened a bit, though still rough and tumble and a better fighter than Cato. Cato is still the brains that keeps Macro away from the trouble he is prone to get into. Here is the closest we have been to the Imperial Purple, Claudius, who is near the end of his tenure. And we see the seedy underside of politics as all prepare for what is to come when Claudius is gone. It is a shame that we do not see the craftiness of Derek Jacoby in the time when Claudius appears. That would have elevated the story I think.Also, there are times when we can see what Cato needs to see two, and three times before he realizes that there is not one simple plot to follow, but many and, well it's complicated. As Imperial politics should be where all are scrambling for power to come.Yet that complexity and the background make this a great read. Though still troubling is that Cato, so close to his lover, would not send some form of communication to her. A subplot we have been exploring for the previous three books.One hopes that having met Vespasian at the beginning of the series our two heroes will continue on for the next reign and the turmoil and then be on hand to aid that Emperor when he comes to power. Many more tales, please!