Praetorian, Paperback
4 out of 5 (1 rating)

Description

PRAETORIAN is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series.

Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. The city of Rome in AD 51 is a dangerous place. Treachery lurks on every corner, and a shadowy Republican movement, 'the Liberators', has spread its tentacles wide.

It is feared that the heart of the latest plot lies in the ranks of the Praetorian Guard.

Uncertain of whom he can trust, the Imperial Secretary Narcissus summons to Rome two courageous men guaranteed to be loyal to the grave: army veterans Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro. Tasked with infiltrating the Guard, Cato and Macro face a daunting test to win the trust of their fellow soldiers.

No sooner have they begun to unearth the details of the Liberators' devious plan than disaster strikes: an old enemy who could identify them, with deadly consequences, makes an unexpected appearance.

Now they face a race against time to save their own lives before they can unmask the mastermind behind the Liberators...

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512 pages, Maps
  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9780755353798

£8.99

£7.85

 
Free Home Delivery

on all orders

 
Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Reviews

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by
4

This is still a great series. In the back notes, Simon, the author talks of returning to two old friends, and that is how the series is now. Macro has softened a bit, though still rough and tumble and a better fighter than Cato. Cato is still the brains that keeps Macro away from the trouble he is prone to get into. Here is the closest we have been to the Imperial Purple, Claudius, who is near the end of his tenure. And we see the seedy underside of politics as all prepare for what is to come when Claudius is gone. It is a shame that we do not see the craftiness of Derek Jacoby in the time when Claudius appears. That would have elevated the story I think.Also, there are times when we can see what Cato needs to see two, and three times before he realizes that there is not one simple plot to follow, but many and, well it's complicated. As Imperial politics should be where all are scrambling for power to come.Yet that complexity and the background make this a great read. Though still troubling is that Cato, so close to his lover, would not send some form of communication to her. A subplot we have been exploring for the previous three books.One hopes that having met Vespasian at the beginning of the series our two heroes will continue on for the next reign and the turmoil and then be on hand to aid that Emperor when he comes to power. Many more tales, please!

Also by Simon Scarrow   |  View all

£7.99

£7.25

£20.00

£15.79

£8.99

£7.85

Also in the Eagles of the Empire series   |  View all

£7.99

£7.25

£20.00

£15.79

£8.99

£7.85