Plan D, Paperback


October 2011. While West Berlin enjoys all the trappings of capitalism, on the crowded, polluted, Eastern side of the Wall, the GDR is facing bankruptcy.

The ailing government's only hope lies in economic talks with the West, but then an ally of the GDR's chairman is found murdered - and all the clues suggest that his killer came from within the Stasi.

Detective Martin Wegener is assigned to the case, but, with the future of East Germany hanging over him, Wegener must work with the West German police if he is to find the killer, even if it means investigating the Stasi themselves.

It is a journey that will take him from Stasi meeting rooms to secret prisons as he begins to unravel the identity of both victim and killer, and the meaning of the mysterious Plan D.

Plan D is a gripping thriller and a thought-provoking alternative history in the vein of Robert Harris' Fatherland and John le Carre's The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9780099578352



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops

Also by Simon Urban