A Kind of Loving, Paperback
5 out of 5 (1 rating)


Stan Barstow's landmark 'Brit-Lit' novel of the sixties immortalized Vic Brown, the amiable working class lad from the North and led the way for author's like Nick Hornby writing similar slice-of-life drama.

Still as fresh and alive today, it spawned two sequels: The Watchers on the Shore (1966) and The Right True End (1976).

First published in 1960, it has long been used as a set text in British schools.

It has also been translated at various times into a film starring Alan Bates (1962) of the same name, a television series (1973) starring Clive Wood, a radio play and a stage play.

A Kind of Loving was the first of a trilogy, published over the course of sixteen years, that followed hero Vic Brown through marriage, divorce and a move from the mining town of Cressley to London.

This new edition includes an afterword by David Collard.




Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 1 of 1 reviews.

Review by

I bought this book because I remember reading it at school so many years ago I almost hate to admit it!! It took me right back to the days of growing up in the 60's very nostalgic!! It tells the story of Vic a young Yorkshire lad, son of a Yorkshire miner growing to manhood and trying to make his way in the world, but not quite knowing how to get there. He is caught up in the times when you had to make an honest woman of your girl, which is what he does when his girlfriend Ingrid becomes pregnant.On the face of it Vic is a right jack the lad who wants to taste life and sow his wild oats without any complications, but the reader is aware that Vic really is good, honest young man with dreams and aspirations that evey young lad has. The tough decisions that he and Ingrid have to make that could make of break them, are ones that thousands of young people went through before contraception and the less severe moral codes of today. A really good story with lovely yorkshire isms throughout!!

Also by Stan Barstow