The Eisenstein Collection: Volume 2, DVD


A second collection of films by Russian filmmaker Sergei Eisenstein. 'Bezhin Meadow' (1937) is based on the life of Pavik Morosov, a pioneer who was killed by his 'Old Russia' father for being an enemy of the people. 'Alexander Nevsky' (1938), Eisenstein's first sound film, tells the story of the legendary hero who led the Russian Army against a German invasion in the 13th century.

The film was made just before World War 2 and the inevitable onslaught between Russia and Hitler's Germany.

The authenticity of the battle scenes was vouchsafed by Eisenstein being allowed unlimited access to the real Russian army.

Eisenstein's epic production comprising 'Ivan the Terrible Part I' (1944) and 'Ivan the Terrible Part II: The Boyars' Plot (1958) tells the story of one of Russia's greatest and most ruthless leaders.

The first part chronicles Ivan (Nikolai Cherkassov)'s childhood, coronation, marriage and illness.

Eisenstein juxtaposes striking imagery with a stirring score by Prokofiev.

In Part 2, Ivan continues his bloody struggle with the Boyars and the Church.

Stalin, initially a supporter of the project, objected to Eisenstein's depiction of the Russian leader in the second part.

The film was not released until 1958, and only a fragment of Part 3 exists.


  • Format: DVD
  • Region: 0
  • Certification: (PG)
  • EAN: 5037899022306
  • Catalogue number: TVD4031
  • Studio: Palisades Tartan
  • Release date:
  • Genre: Drama
  • Colour: Col & B/W


Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops