Girl With a Pearl Earring, Paperback
4.5 out of 5 (2 ratings)


An international bestseller with over two million copies sold, this is a story of an artist's desire for beauty and the ultimate corruption of innocence. 17th Century Holland. When Griet becomes a maid in the household of Johannes Vermeer in the town of Delft, she thinks she knows her role: housework, laundry and the care of his six children.

But as she becomes part of his world and his work, their growing intimacy spreads tension and deception in the ordered household and, as the scandal seeps out, into the town beyond.

Tracy Chevalier's extraordinary historical novel on the corruption of innocence and the price of genius is a contemporary classic perfect for fans of Sarah Dunant and Philippa Gregory.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9780007232161



Free Home Delivery

on all orders

Pick up orders

from local bookshops


Showing 1 - 2 of 2 reviews.

Review by

The main thing I loved in this novel was the fact that it gives The Dutch Mona Lisa her own story. The thoughts and behaviors for the times felt authentic and the characters were believable. Griet was a fascinating character which you don't see much of how complex she really is if you were to watch the movie of this novel. I found the story itself very enjoyable and it kept my attention.

Review by

This was the perfect holiday read - I absolutely loved this novel. I think most people are familiar with the fictionalised story of the Dutch maid who became a muse to the painter Vermeer, leading to the famous 'Girl with a Pearl Earring' painting, but despite already knowing the story I still thoroughly enjoyed this historical novel.Chevalier's writing is so vivid I could picture so clearly every aspect of the house Griet served in, the counter at the meat market she frequented, the studio Vermeer painted in, her bedroom in the attic where she helped to grind the colours for the paint. And such memorable characters, from Griet and Vermeer themselves, to her blind father, Vermeer's difficult wife, his strict but fair mother-in-law, the wealthy but sleazy art buyer, the jealous housemaid, and the scheming daughter.A wonderfully gripping book - pick it up and be prepared to lose yourself in it for a day. Easily 5 stars.

Also by Tracy Chevalier   |  View all